Mikey Labriola won five matches by bonus points on the way to the 174 pound title at the UNK Holiday Inn Open.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Four Huskers Take Titles at UNK Holiday Inn Open

By NU Athletic Communications

Kearney, Neb. - Four Huskers claimed championships in the elite division at the UNK Holiday Open at the Buffalo County Fair Gounds on Saturday. Mikey Labriola rolled to the title at 174 pounds for his second open tournament win of his freshman season, while Mitchell Maginnis won the 125-pound bracket and Collin Purinton and Jordan Shearer shared the 149-pound crown.

Labriola went 5-0 with each of his wins coming by bonus points, as he pinned each of his first three opponents and won by major decision in both the semifinal and final rounds. In the finals, he won a 16-7 major decision over Wyoming's Kyle Pope, who started at 174 pounds for the Cowboys against Nebraska in Friday night's dual. Labriola is now 9-0 on the season with three pins, two technical falls and two major decisions, as he won the Daktronics Open title on Nov. 5 in addition to his win at the UNK Open.

Maginnis won five decisions, including a 10-5 over Cole Verner from Wyoming in the final.

At 149 pounds, both Shearer and Purinton won each of their three matches. Purinton won a major decision and a tech fall, before winning a decision over Wyoming's Sam Turner, who also started for the Cowboys on Friday night. Shearer added wins by technical fall and major decision.

Zemua Baptista finished third at 157 pounds, and Johnny Blankenship fought his way through the consolation bracket to take third place at 165. Patrick Grayson took fourth at heavyweight.

In the Amateur bracket, Dylan Gowin and Wyatt Wriedt finished third at 125 pounds and heavyweight, respectively.

The 15th-ranked Huskers will return to action this Saturday at West Virginia. The dual in Morgantown, W.Va., is set to begin at noon (CT).

UNK Holiday Inn Open
Nov. 18, 2017
Kearney, Neb. (Buffalo County Fairgrounds)

Individual Results
Elite 125: Mitchell Maginnis - 1st (5-0)
Elite 149: Collin Purinton - T-1st (3-0)
Elite 149: Jordan Shearer - T-1st (3-0)
Elite 157: Zemua Baptista - 3rd (5-1)
Elite 157: Luke Weber - DNP (4-2)
Elite 165: Johnny Blankenship - 3rd (6-1)
Elite 174: Mikey Labriola - 1st (5-0)
Elite HWT: Patrick Grayson - 4th (4-2)

Amateur 125: Dylan Gowin - 3rd (5-1)
Amateur 133: Tucker Sjomeling - DNP (2-2)
Amateur 141: Andrew Nielsen - DNP (3-2)
Amateur 197: Colton Wolfe - DNP (2-2)
Amateur HWT: Wyatt Wriedt - 3rd (5-1)


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub