Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Hanson Invited to U.S. U-23 Training Camp

By NU Athletic Communications

Haley Hanson and former Husker Sydney Miramontez have been called up for the U.S. Under-23 Women’s National Team Training Camp, which runs from Nov. 28 to Dec. 4, in Orlando, Fla.

Hanson is one of 22 college players, while Miramontez is one of four NWSL players who were called up by U.S. Head Coach B.J. Snow.

Hanson, an Overland Park, Kan., native, finished her senior season at Nebraska in 2017, leading the Huskers in goals (9) and points (22), while ranking second on the team in assists (4). During her four-year career at Nebraska, Hanson made 75 appearances, including 72 starts, and scored 19 goals, while tallying seven assists.

Hanson is a two-time All-Big Ten selection, including a second-team honor in 2017. Hanson also achieved second-team All-Region status for the 2017 season.

Miramontez, who played for the Huskers from 2013 to 2016, scored six career goals and added 14 career assists. She made 75 appearances, including 48 starts, and helped NU to a pair of NCAA Tournament appearances as well as the 2013 Big Ten regular-season and tournament titles.

Earlier this year, Miramontez attended the U.S. U-23 Training Camp in January. In addition, she played five matches for FC Kansas City last season.

U.S. Under-23 Women’s National Team Roster by Position

GOALKEEPERS (4): Courtney Brosnan (Syracuse; Madison, N.J.), Katie Lund (Texas Christian; Plano, Texas), Casey Murphy (Rutgers; Bridgewater, N.J.), Katelyn Rowland (North Carolina Courage; Raleigh, N.C.)                                                                                                                                              

DEFENDERS (8): Cienna Arrieta (Texas A&M; El Paso, Texas), Hailey Harbison (Pepperdine; San Diego, Calif.), Kimberly Keever (Washington; Manhattan Beach, Calif.), Phoebe McClernon (Virginia; West Chester, Pa.), Sydney Miramontez (Utah NWSL; Lenexa, Kan.), Paige Monaghan (Butler; Roxbury, N.J.), Kaleigh Riehl (Penn State; Fairfax Station, Va.), Samantha Staab (Clemson; Clemson, S.C.)         

MIDFIELDERS (8): Haley Hanson (Nebraska; Lincoln, Neb.), Maddie Huster (Wake Forest; Cincinnati, Ohio), Cece Kizer (Mississippi; Overland Park, Kan.), Parker Roberts (Florida; Leawood, Kan.), Shannon Simon (Washington; Torrance, Calif.), Bri Visalli (Pepperdine; San Jose, Calif.), Morgan Weaver (Washington State; Pullman, Wash.), Sandra Yu (Notre Dame; Strongsville, Ohio)                              

FORWARDS (6): Cyera Hintzen (Texas; Austin, Texas), Darian Jenkins (North Carolina Courage; Heber City, Utah), Tziarra King (NC State; Raleigh, N.C.), Michele Vasconcelos (Chicago Red Stars; Sandy, Utah), Ally Watt (Texas A&M; College Station, Texas), Maddy Williams (Purdue; Perrysburg, Ohio)


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub