Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Huskers Voted 9th Nationally in Preseason Poll

By NU Athletic Communications

Lincoln -- The NACGC/W announced the 2018 Preseason Coaches Poll on Monday and the Nebraska women's gymnastics team was voted ninth place nationally. 

The Huskers shared the 2017 Big Ten Regular Season Championship with Michigan, who was chosen to finish in seventh, while Oklahoma tops the rankings. Nebraska finished in seventh place nationally in 2017 and returns nine letterwinners and two All-Americans from last season. 

The Cornhuskers will host five home events in 2018 including the annual Masters Classic at the Bob Devaney Sports Center. On the road, Nebraska will face reigning national champions Oklahoma, and top-five finishers UCLA and Florida.

Nebraska will open the 2018 season at Penn State on Jan. 13 and will begin a three-meet home stretch on Jan. 20 when the squad faces Rutgers. The meet is scheduled for 7 p.m.

Season tickets to Nebraska gymnastics are available now at or by calling 800-(8)BIG-RED. Season tickets are $25 for adults, $13 for seniors and youth, and all meets are free to UNL students and kids aged six and under. Tickets include access to both men’s and women’s gymnastics meets.

NACGC/W 2018 Preseason Coaches Poll

    1. Oklahoma
    2. Florida
    3. LSU
    4. Alabama
    5. Utah
    6. UCLA
    7. Michigan
    8. Denver
    9. Nebraska
    10. Kentucky
    11. California
    12. Oregon State
    13. Boise State
    14. Auburn
    15. Washington
    16. Georgia 
    17. Missouri
    18. Stanford
    19. Arkansas 
    20. Iowa
    21. George Washington
    22. Ohio State
    23. Illinois
    24. Southern Utah
    25. Penn State
    26. Arizona
    27. Minnesota
    28. West Virginia
    29. Iowa State
    30. Central Michigan
    31. Arizona State
    32. Utah State
    33. Kent State
    34. BYU
    35. Eastern Michigan
    36. North Carolina

Other teams receiving votes include N.C. State, Maryland, New Hampshire, Michigan State, Pittsburgh, Bowling Green, UC Davis, San Jose State and Northern Illinois.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub