Luke McNitt was named the winner of the Cletus Fischer Native Son Award.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Three Huskers Earn Prestigious Senior Awards

By NU Athletic Communications

Nebraska 2017 seniors Drew Brown, Luke McNitt and Chris Weber are the recipients of three prestigious senior awards.

Brown is the 2017 winner of the Guy Chamberlin Trophy, McNitt was selected as the winner of the Cletus Fischer Native Son Award and Weber earned the Tom Novak Award. Each of the three honorees will be recognized at the Outland Trophy banquet in Omaha on Wednesday, Jan. 10.

Brown finished his Nebraska career as the fourth-leading scorer in school history with 355 points, and ranked second in Husker history with 59 field goals. Brown also made 51 consecutive starts at place-kicker during his Nebraska career and earned All-Big Ten accolades each of his final three seasons.

The Guy Chamberlin Trophy dates back to 1967 and is presented to the senior player who has shown by his play and contributions to the betterment of the Nebraska football team that he has the qualities and dedication of Chamberlin to the Cornhusker tradition.

Weber excelled as a senior, leading Nebraska with 95 tackles and nine tackles for loss. A 2017 team captain, Weber was decorated off the field as well, earning Academic All-America honors and being named as a National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame Scholar-Athlete. Weber originally joined the Nebraska program as a walk-on before earning a scholarship.

Established in 1950, the Novak Award is presented to the senior who “best exemplifies courage and determination despite all odds in the manner of Nebraska All-America center Tom Novak.”

A Kearney native, McNitt started at fullback as a senior and continued to be one of Nebraska’s top special teams performers. Also a team captain, McNitt was one of the Huskers’ leaders in the offseason and was the 2016 Nebraska Lifter of the Year.

The Native Son Award is named in honor of former Nebraska assistant coach Cletus Fischer. Chosen by the coaching staff, the Native Son Award is presented to the senior player who best exemplifies the following qualities—good work ethic, competitiveness, leadership, forthrightness, sense of humor, pride, loyalty and love of Nebraska.

Additional 2017 Nebraska football team awards and honors will be presented at a team function later this month.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub