Zak Hensley won the title at 133 pounds at the Roger Denker Open on Sunday.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Four Huskers Win Roger Denker Open Titles

By NU Athletic Communications

Warrensburg, Mo. - Zak Hensley (133), Collin Purinton (149), Luke Weber (157) and Colton Wolfe (197) each took first place at the Roger Denker Open, while six other Huskers placed at the tournament held at the Central Missouri Multipurpose Building on Sunday.

Hensley ripped through the 133-pound bracket for his second open tournament title of the season, as he went 4-0 with three wins by bonus points. He defeated Isaac Jacquez of Lindenwood in the final by an 8-1 decision. Hensley also won the Doane Open title in December.

Purinton won his second open tournament of the season with a 4-0 record and three bonus-point wins at 149 pounds. Purinton defeated teammate Jordan Shearer in the final by a 9-7 decision to run his record to 13-5 on the season. He also won the UNK Holiday Inn Open in November. 

Weber picked up his first open title of the season with a 4-0 record at 157 pounds. He took down Blake Clevenger of Drury by an 8-4 decision in the final.

Wolfe, competing unattached at 197 pounds, earned his first-career open tournament win with a 3-0 record. He picked up a pair of pins Sunday, including a fall in 5:52 over Zac Stork in the final.

Christian Miller competed unattached at 141 pounds, and finished second after dropping an 8-4 decision to Allan Hart of Missouri in the final. Johnny Blankenship also took second at 165 pounds, while Zemua Baptista took third place at 157 pounds.

Wyatt Wriedt, competing unattached, placed fifth at heavyweight, while Dylan Gowin, also unattached, placed sixth at 125 pounds. Andrew Nielsen (141 - unattached) also competed on Sunday, but did not place.

Roger Denker Open
Jan. 21, 2018
Warrensburg, Mo. (UCM Multipurpose Building)

Individual Results
125: Dylan Gowin (Unattached) - 6th (1-2)
133: Zak Hensley - 1st (4-0)
141: Christian Miller (Unattached) - 2nd (3-1)
141: Andrew Nielsen (Unattached) - DNP (0-2)
149: Collin Purinton - 1st (4-0)
149: Jordan Shearer - 2nd (3-1)
157: Zemua Baptista - 3rd (2-1)
157: Luke Weber - 1st (4-0)
165: Johnny Blankenship - 2nd (2-1)
197: Colton Wolfe (Unattached) - 1st (3-0)
HWT: Wyatt Wriedt (Unattached) - 5th (3-1)


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub