Freedom Akinmoladun is a four-time selection to the Brook Berringer Citizenship Team.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

2018 Brook Berringer Citizenship Team Unveiled

By NU Athletic Communications

Lincoln -- The Nebraska football program is proud to announce that 49 members of the 2017 team have been named to the 21st annual Brook Berringer Citizenship Team. The honored student-athletes will be recognized on the field before kickoff of Saturday’s Red-White Spring Game at Memorial Stadium.

The group includes 45 members of Nebraska’s 2018 team, in addition to three players who completed their eligibility in 2017. Of the 49 honorees, 31 are multiple honorees, while four student-athletes - Freedom Akinmoladun, Jerald Foster, Luke Gifford and Bo Kitrell - are making their fourth appearance on the Berringer Citizenship Team. 

The Brook Berringer Citizenship Team was established by the Husker football program in honor of former Nebraska quarterback Brook Berringer, who died in a plane crash in April of 1996. Berringer was a member of NU's back-to-back national championship teams in 1994 and 1995.

Berringer was also one of the most dedicated Husker volunteers in the community with youth, both in Nebraska and in his hometown of Goodland, Kan. The team honors players who display a similar love and dedication for volunteering in the community through Nebraska's nationally recognized Life Skills program.  The recipients have completed six or more service projects during the academic calendar year and are in good academic standing.

2018 Brook Berringer Citizenship Team (Previous Years Selected)
Freedom Akinmoladun (2017, 2016, 2015)
Austin Allen
Fyn Anderson (2017, 2016)
Mohamed Barry (2017, 2016)
Dicaprio Bootle
Andrew Bunch
Tony Butler (2017)
Damion Daniels
Carlos Davis (2017, 2016)
Khalil Davis (2017, 2016)
Michael Decker (2016)
JoJo Domann (2017)
Tanner Farmer (2017, 2016)
Matt Farniok
Jerald Foster (2017, 2016, 2015)
Christian Gaylord (2016)
Tristan Gebbia
Luke Gifford (2017, 2016, 2015)
Willie Hampton
Trent Hixson
Branden Hohenstein
Todd Honas (2017)
Tyler Hoppes (2017)
Matt Jarzynka (2017, 2016)
Pernell Jefferson (2017)
Grant Jordan (2017)
Spencer Jordan (2017)
Reid Karel (2017, 2016)
Bo Kitrell (2017, 2016, 2015)
Caleb Lightbourn (2017)
Wyatt Mazour (2017, 2016)
Hunter Miller
DaiShon Neal (2017)
Peyton Newell (2017, 2016)
Patrick O’Brien (2017)
Kurt Rafdal
Bryan Reimers (2017)
Dylan Reynolds
Matt Sichterman
Ben Stille (2017)
Jack Stoll (2017)
Mick Stoltenberg (2017)
Eli Sullivan
Chase Urbach (2017, 2016)
Jackson Walker
Jacob Weinmaster (2017, 2016)


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub