Photo by Nate Olsen/Nebraska Communications

Huskers Add Four In Offseason

By NU Athletic Communications

The Nebraska rifle team will be welcoming four new additions to its ranks for the 2018-19 season. Elena Flake joins the Huskers as a freshman walk-on and Bailey Powell is a junior transfer from UTEP. Kinga Kaletto and Elizabeth Lorentz are both on scholarship as incoming freshman. The four will look to make an immediate impact on the team.

Elena Flake, originally from Brunswick, Maine, comes to Nebraska with a wealth of shooting experience and achievements. Flake was a bronze medalist in Junior Prone at the 2017 USA shooting National Championships in Fort Benning, Ga. She trained at the National Training Center following high school, competing in the 2017 and 2018 National Junior Olympic Competitions.

Bailey Powell, from Albuquerque, New Mexico has been shooting for seven years. Her career high record in air rifle (597) matches the current Husker record, held by senior Hannah Virga. Powell was a finalist at Winter Air Gun in 2017 and qualified for the 2018 ISSF World Cup. As a junior transfer, Powell will look to provide leadership to the 2017-18 Huskers.

Kinga Aletto, from Sarasota, Florida, brings an impressive shooting resume to Nebraska. The former captain of the Sarasota Military Academy rifle team holds nine of the eleven school records and is tied for a tenth. She led the team to three state championships and four Army JROTC Brigade Championships. Aletto also participated in the 2018 American Legion Junior 3PAR Air Rifle National Championships and the 2017 Junior Olympic Women's Air competition. 

Elizabeth Lorentz, from Seely Lake, Montana is a proven shooter with many accolades to her name. Lorentz qualified for the 2016 American Legion 3PAR Air Rifle National Championships and placed third in both kneeling and overall competition. Lorentz is a three-time Montana Air Rifle State Champion and received her CMP Air Rifle Distinguished Shooter Badge in 2017. Lorentz also competed in the Junior Olympics for three consecutive years. 


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub