Angela Mercurio was named a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar for the third year in a row, and posted a perfect 4.0 GPA in the 2017-18 academic year.
Photo by Stephanie Carpenter/Nebraska Communications

Huskers Earn 27 Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Awards

By NU Athletic Communications

Nebraska's track and field program garnered a total of 27 Big Ten Distinguished Scholar awards when the conference office announced its highest scholastic honor roll on Tuesday.

A total of 15 women and 12 men from NU's track and field program were honored. The list includes student-athletes from all 14 Big Ten institutions and 38 different sports who have recorded a minimum grade-point average (GPA) of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year.

In addition, three NU women and three NU men earned special distinction after carrying a 4.0 GPA in the 2017-18 academic term. Andy Jacobs (Sophomore*/Rochester, Minn/Broadcasting/Journalism/Psychology), Angela Mercurio (Senior/Kitchener, Ontario/Biochemistry/Women's & Gender Studies) and Alex Meyer (Graduate/Superior, Nebraska/Social Science Education) eached earned 4.0 GPAs on the women's side, while Kevin Cahoy (Junior/Grand Island, Nebraska/Biological Sciences), Givon Washington (Sophomore/Argyle, Texas/Economics) and Simon Wiedel (Sophomore/Hebron, Nebraska/Elementary Education) earned the honor on the men's side.

The full list of Big Ten Distinguished Scholars from the Nebraska track and field program is below.

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Similar to the Academic All-Big Ten honor, Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution. However, the Distinguished Scholar Award encompasses only students with a minimum GPA of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year, excluding summer school. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student's academic career.

*Year listed represents academic standing for 2017-18 academic year

Nebraska Women's Track and Field 2017-18 Big Ten Distinguished Scholars (15)

  • Alice Akers, So., Bodyke, Clare, Ireland, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences Communication
  • Nicole Baker, Jr., Gilbert, Arizona, Nutrition & Health Science
  • Rachel Brush, So., Waukee, Iowa, Elementary Education
  • Ashleigh Carr, Jr., Oakland, Nebraska, Family & Consumer Science Education
  • Kendall Cast, Sr., Aurora, Illinois, Chemical Engineering
  • Kristen Dowell, Sr., Edwardsville, Illinois, Hospitality, Restaurant & Tourism Management
  • Elsa Forsberg, So., Lincoln, Nebraska, Fisheries & Wildlife
  • Andy Jacobs, So., Rochester, Minnesota, Broadcasting/Journalism/Psychology
  • Kiara Kearney, So., Colorado Springs, Colorado, Marketing
  • Petra Luteran, So., Szarliget, Hungary, Accounting
  • Angela Mercurio, Sr., Kitchener, Ontario, Biochemistry/Women's & Gender Studies
  • Alex Meyer, Gr., Superior, Nebraska, Social Science Education
  • Rebecca Moore, Jr., Shorewood, Minnesota, Food Science & Technology
  • Brittni Wolczyk, Jr., Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Psychology
  • Rachel Workentine, Jr., Lincoln, Nebraska, Social Science Education

Nebraska Men's Track and Field 2017-18 Big Ten Distinguished Scholars (12)

  • Grant Anderson, Sr., Wayne, Nebraska, Management/Marketing
  • Sam Bransby, Sr., Naperville, Illinois, Elementary Education
  • Kevin Cahoy, Jr., Grand Island, Nebraska, Biological Sciences
  • Jordan De Spong, So., Dunedin, New Zealand, Accounting/Management
  • Mark Freyhof, So., Hamilton, Michigan, Agricultural Engineering
  • Mason Hericks, So., Watertown, South Dakota, Biological Sciences
  • Mark Jarecki, Sr., Columbus, Nebraska, Nutrition & Health Sciences
  • Wyatt McGuire, Sr., North Platte, Nebraska, Elementary Education
  • Nick Percy, Sr., Ventnor, England, Nutrition & Health Sciences
  • Luke Siedhoff, Jr., Crete, Nebraska, Biological Sciences/Spanish
  • Givon Washington, So., Argyle, Texas, Economics
  • Simon Wiedel, So., Hebron, Nebraska, Elementary Education


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub