Annika Albrecht was one of three Huskers named a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Three Huskers Named B1G Distinguished Scholars

By NU Athletic Communications

Three members of the Nebraska volleyball team were named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars on Tuesday. 

Annika Albrecht, Allie Havers and Sydney Townsend were all recognized for their performance in the classroom during the 2017-18 academic year. Albrecht and Havers were also recognized as beach volleyball honorees after competing in the beach season during the spring. Townsend earned her third career honor, while Albrecht and Havers earned their first.

Albrecht had a 3.835 GPA majoring in child, youth and family studies. Havers posted a 3.723 GPA pursuing her master's in journalism and mass communications. Townsend, a two-time Elite 90 Award winner for having the best cumulative GPA at the NCAA Championship, recorded a 3.80 GPA in biochemistry.

The list includes student-athletes from all 14 Big Ten institutions and 38 different sports who have recorded a minimum grade-point average (GPA) of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year. 

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Similar to the Academic All-Big Ten honor, Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution. However, the Distinguished Scholar Award encompasses only students with a minimum GPA of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year, excluding summer school. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student's academic career.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub