Rachel Yager earned a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award for the second straight year after finishing the 2017-18 academic year with a perfect 4.0 GPA.
Photo by Nate Olsen/Nebraska Communications

Two Huskers Named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars

By NU Athletic Communications

Two members of the Nebraska rifle team were named Big Ten Distinguished Scholars on Tuesday, including Nina Radulovic and Rachel Yager. Both received the award for the second straight year. 

The list includes student-athletes from all 14 Big Ten institutions and 38 different sports who have recorded a minimum grade-point average (GPA) of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year. Yager earned a perfect 4.0 GPA in speech-language pathology.

Big Ten Faculty Representatives established the Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008 to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Similar to the Academic All-Big Ten honor, Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution. However, the Distinguished Scholar Award encompasses only students with a minimum GPA of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year, excluding summer school. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student's academic career.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub