Photo by Allyssa Hynes/Nebraska Communications

Foecke Named Senior CLASS Award Finalist

By NU Athletic Communications

Ten NCAA women’s volleyball student-athletes, including Nebraska senior outside hitter Mikaela Foecke, were selected today as finalists for the 2018 Senior CLASS Award in collegiate volleyball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

A native of West Point, Iowa, Foecke carries a 3.649 GPA majoring in animal science and is a two-time NCAA Championship most outstanding player, making her one of only four volleyball players in NCAA history to accomplish that feat. Foecke was an AVCA second-team All-American in 2017 after leading the Huskers to their second NCAA Championship in three years. Foecke has excelled both on and off the court in her four years at Nebraska, as she is a three-time academic All-Big Ten selection and has received Nebraska's high honors (silver) academic medallion twice. A team captain in 2018, Foecke is leading the team with 3.62 kills per set on .303 hitting with 2.53 digs per set. Foecke ranks in Nebraska's top 10 in career kills and career aces. 

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 30 candidates announced earlier in the season. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately, and fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through December 5. Fan votes will then be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award recipient will be announced during the 2018 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship in December.

For more information on all the finalists, visit

Volleyball Finalists
Tami Alade, Stanford
Taryn Kloth, Creighton
Ali Bastianelli, Illinois
Haley Libs, Northern Kentucky
Lauren Bruns, Dayton
Courtney Pence, Illinois State
Santita Ebangwese, Syracuse
Jordyn Poulter, Illinois
Mikaela Foecke, Nebraska
Samantha Seliger-Swenson, Minnesota


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub