Photo by Chris Vleisides/Kansas City Royals

Gordon Wins Sixth Gold Glove

By NU Athletic Communications

Former Husker great Alex Gordon captured his sixth MLB Gold Glove when the 2018 honorees for the American League and National League were announced on Sunday, Nov. 4.

A left fielder for the Kansas City Royals, Gordon previously won Gold Gloves in 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2017. In 2018, he led all Major League left fielders with 18 defensive runs saved. Gordon’s .992 fielding percentage was the second-best among AL left fielders in 2018.

Gordon is a three-time MLB All-Star (2013, 2014 and 2015) and 2015 World Series champion with the Royals. Gordon, who lettered for the Huskers from 2003 to 2005, was a two-time first-team All-American (2004, 2005) and 2005 recipient of the Golden Spikes Award, Brooks Wallace Award, ABCA Player of the Year and Dick Howser Award. The 2005 Nebraska team set a school record with 57 wins and advanced to the College World Series.

The 2018 Gold Glove winners were determined by a combination of votes submitted by Major League managers and coaches and a sabermetric index provided by the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR).


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub