Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Nebraska Prepares for NCAA Midwest Regional

By NU Athletic Communications

The Nebraska cross country team will compete this Friday at the 2018 NCAA Midwest Regional at Bradley University in Peoria, Illinois. The women’s 6K is slated to start at 11 a.m., and the men’s 10K race will follow at 12 p.m.

The Big Red men are looking to build off an eighth place finish (179 points) in the 8K at the Big Ten Championships. The eighth place finish was an improvement from the team finishing ninth at the event last season. The men’s squad have been consistently led by freshman George Kusche and sophomore Mark Freyhof this season.

Kusche ran a personal-best time of 23:39.0 and finished third at the event. His third-place finish was the best finish ever by a Husker at the Big Ten Championships and the best finish by a Nebraska male runner at a conference championship since 1997. Kusche’s performance at the championships earned him first-team All-Big Ten accolades and he was named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year. During the regular season, he paced the Huskers in three meets, tallying up three top-five finishes, and was the second member of the Big Red to cross the finish line in the fourth meet.

Mark Freyhof also made a jump at the Big Ten Championships, placing 18th with a PR time of 24:10.0 and he was the second Husker to cross the finish line. His finish was a 29-place improvement from his 47th place finish at the 2017 Big Ten Championships. Mark Freyhof has helped lead the men’s team this season, recording two top-five finishes and posting one top 10 finish during the regular season.

Bailey Timmons, Jordan De Spong and Myles Fleming were the next three runners for Nebraska to complete the men's race at the Big Ten Championships. Timmons placed 50th with a time of 24:56.4. De Spong and Fleming both ran personal-bests in the 8K and finished 53rd (24:58.7) and 69th (25:12.0), respectively.

The Nebraska women are led by junior Judi Jones and sophomore Erika Freyhof. Both Jones and Erika Freyhof led the women’s team and helped Nebraska finish 11th (283 points) in the 6K at the Big Ten Championships. The 11th-place finish was a one spot improvement from 2017.

After missing the Big Ten Championships in 2017, Jones ran the best race of her career at the event this season. Jones paced the women’s squad with a PR time of 21:06.6 to finish 37th. She was one of the first two Nebraska runners to cross the finish line on four occasions during the regular season and she also posted one top-five finish.

Erika Freyhof was the second Cornhusker to finish at the Big Ten Championships, placing 46th with a time of 21:26.2. Her finish was a 21-place improvement from her 67th place finish at the 2017 Big Ten Championships. Erika Freyhof has consistently led the women’s team this season, being one of the top two Huskers to cross the finish line at four meets during the regular season and posting one top-five finish.

Elsa Forsberg, Rachel Brush and Kaitlynn Johnson rounded out the top five Nebraska women's runners at the Big Ten Championship. Forsberg placed 55th and ran a personal-best time of 21:41.7. Brush was the fourth Husker to cross the finish line with a time of 22:09.6 and finished 72nd. Johnson completed the 6K with a PR time of 22:47.8 to finish 94th.

"We want the highest places in the region we can get on Friday," said Harris. "The men want to go better than last year's eighth place and the women have a goal of being in the top 20 teams. We also would like to qualify someone for NCAA Championships. George (Kusche) has the best chance."

Live results can be found here. Complete results will be posted on the Bradley Braves website and at

NCAA Midwest Regional Friday, November 9, 2018

Host: The NCAA Midwest Regional is hosted by Bradley University.

Course: Newman Golf Course

2021 West Nebraska Avenue, Peoria, IL 61604

Course Map (6K Map) (10K Map)

Starting Times: Women – 11 a.m. (6,000 Meters) / Men – 12 p.m. (10,000 Meters)

Participating Teams (Women): Saint Louis, SIU Edwardsville, Illinois State, South Dakota, Northwestern, Kansas State, Loyola (Ill.), SE Missouri, Missouri State, Bradley, Illinois-Chicago, South Dakota State, Wichita State, Western Illinois, Minnesota, Oklahoma, North Dakota, Eastern Illinois, Northern Iowa, Tulsa, Illinois, Oklahoma State, Drake, Kansas, Nebraska-Omaha, UMKC, Southern Illinois, Missouri, Creighton, Iowa State, Nebraska, Iowa, DePaul, Northern Illinois, North Dakota State

Participating Teams (Men): Nebraska, Wichita State, Saint Louis, Oklahoma State, North Dakota, Missouri, Oklahoma, Creighton, South Dakota, Northern Iowa, UMKC, Loyola (Ill.), Bradley, Illinois State, Kansas, Minnesota, Drake, SIU Edwardsville, South Dakota State, Illinois, Illinois-Chicago, SE Missouri, Western Illinois, Eastern Illinois, Iowa State, Southern Illinois, Iowa, Tulsa, Kansas State, North Dakota State, DePaul

***Teams are listed by box assignment. The Husker women drew starting box #31 and the Nebraska men will come out of starting box #1.

Timing & Results: The races will be timed and scored by the Finish Lynx Timing System. Live results will be available here and complete results will be posted on at the conclusion of the event.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub