Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Huskers Travel to Arizona for Westbrook Invite

By NU Athletic Communications
The Nebraska women’s golf team continues its spring season in Arizona by competing at the Westbrook Spring Invitational, Feb. 24-25. 
Wisconsin plays host to a 16-team field at the Westbrook Village Golf Club in Peoria, Ariz.The Huskers will join Denver, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Missouri, Mississippi State, Notre Dame, Ohio State, Oklahoma, Oregon State, Tennessee, UC Davis, Washington State and the hosts from Wisconsin on the par-72, 6,432-yard layout of the Vistas Course at Westbrook Village. 
Play begins Sunday with a shotgun start at 9:30 a.m. (CT) for two rounds. The two-day, 54-hole tournament concludes Monday with the final round at 9:30 a.m. (CT).  
Live scoring for the tournament will be available at
Nebraska will be competing at the Westbrook Spring Invitational for the eighth consecutive year. Last season the Huskers tied for third in a 15-team field. Kate Smith led the Huskers with the best individual tournament score in school history with a 202 (67-64-71) and the best individual round in school history with a second-round 64 at last year’s tournament. Nebraska’s three-day total of 843 (283-273-287) at Westbrook also shattered a school record, as did NU’s 15-under-par second round team score. 
Smith, a junior from Detroit Lakes, Minn., owns 12 career top-10 finishes and 17 career top-25 performances, including her third place finish at Westbrook last season.
Sophomore Noor Ahmed (Folsom, Calif.) is coming off the best individual tournament finish of her career. She tied for ninth to lead Nebraska at the Lady Puerto Rico Classic (Feb. 10-12). Ahmed finished at 218 (74-72-72) on the River Course at the Rio Mar Country Club.
Westbrook Spring Invitational
Location: Peoria, Arizona
Host: Wisconsin
Course: Westbrook Village Golf Club (Vistas Course, Par 72, 6,432 Yards)
Sunday, Feb. 24 (Shotgun) - 9:30 a.m. (CT)
Monday, Feb. 25 (Shotgun) - 9:30 a.m. (CT)
Live Scoring:
Participating Teams (16)
  • Denver
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Michigan
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi State
  • Nebraska
  • Notre Dame
  • Ohio State
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon State
  • Tennessee
  • UC Davis
  • Washington State
  • Wisconsin

Nebraska Individuals

  • Kate Smith
  • Haley Thiele
  • Vanessa Bouvet
  • Kirsten Baete
  • Noor Ahmed
  • Megan Whittaker


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub