Photo by Allyssa Hynes/Nebraska Communications

Murray Sets New School Record

By NU Athletic Communications

Bloomington- The Nebraska swim and dive team continued competition this morning and multiple Huskers will advance to tonight's finals as they broke records and earned B Cuts.

Senior captain Anna McDonald started the morning off strong by qualifying for the C Finals in the 200-yard backstroke (1:58.18).

The three-time 2018 NCAA Championship qualifier Autumn Haebig posted the sixth fastest All-Time Nebraska record (49.66) in the 100-yard freestyle. Her new personal best earned her a lane in the B Finals. Carla Gonzalez-Garcia also broke her personal best (50.69).

Gwen Worlton swam to a time of 2:15.19 and will compete in the C Finals.

Sophomore Izzie Murray extended her success in the pool on the final day of competition. Murray demolished the All-Time Nebraska record and personal record in the 200-yard butterfly with a time of 1:57.28. She posted a qualifying B-Cut time and will be competing in the A Finals tonight. Senior captain Dana Posthuma swam to a time of 1:58.40 and produced a B-Cut time and will compete in the B Finals. Madison Coughlen set a new personal record (1:58.44) that placed her in the B Finals and a B-Cut time. Freshman Maggie Berning broke her record (1:59.83) and will compete in the C Finals.

On the platform board, Jessica Warak produced 244.70 points (18th) and Grace Tiernon produced 228.50 points (21st) in Saturday’s diving preliminaries.

Abigail Knapton finished the platform board in third place with a score of 310.90 with a round three score of 87.45 on the 10-meter board. Knapton will compete in the final round tonight. 

The qualifying Huskers will compete in the finals of these events this evening.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub