Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Huskers Qualify for NCAA National Championship

By NU Athletic Communications

The Nebraska bowling team has been selected to its 16th-straight NCAA Championship as the NCAA announced the participants on Wednesday.  The 2019 National Collegiate Bowling Championship will take place April 11-13 at RollHouse Wickliffe in Wickliffe, Ohio.


Last year’s champion, Vanderbilt, took the first seed, setting them up to face the winner of the Sacred Heart vs. Caldwell qualifying match.


The Huskers will begin the tournament with a match against the winner of the Arkansas State vs. Medaille qualifying match. This match will be held on April 9th at RollHouse Wickliffe in Wickliffe, Ohio.


Sam Houston State and McKendree also locked down automatic qualification for the tournament. Stephen F. Austin will face Prairie View A&M and Maryland Eastern Shore will face Bowie State to determine the last two teams that will compete in Ohio.


Nebraska remains the only program to qualify for the NCAA Championship each of the 16 years that women’s bowling has been an NCAA-sanctioned sport.


The championship bracket will be double-elimination, with each round consisting of a best-of-three match that includes the use of three team game formats - baker total pinfall, five-person team match, and a best-of-seven baker match play. The champion will be determined using a best-of-seven baker match play.


The championship final will air at 5:30 p.m. (CT), Saturday, April 13 on ESPNU. Qualifying rounds will be streamed live on


Nebraska has won NCAA championships in 2004, 2005, 2009, 2013 and 2015, and the Huskers have reached the championship match in five of the last six seasons.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub