Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Nebraska Wins Husker Invitational

By NU Athletic Communications

LINCOLN, Neb. - The Nebraska track and field team won both the men's and women's team titles at the Husker Spring Invitational on Saturday at Ed Weir Stadium. It was the fourth consecutive crown for both teams at the Husker Spring Invite. 

The Husker men finished with 238.50 points in the four-team field to beat runner-up North Dakota State by 103 points. The Big Red women accumulated 211 points, 41 more than second-place North Dakota State. Nebraska won 21 event titles on the day, eight in the field events and 13 in running events.

In the field, Burger Lambrechts Jr. moved up to No. 7 all-time on the NU top-10 list in the shot put with a throw of 62-9 1/4 (19.13m). He was the runner-up in the event.

Brittni Wolczyk won the first title for Nebraska in the javelin. Wolczyk had a season-best throw of 174-1 (53.07m).

Nebraska won both pole vault titles. Andy Jacobs cleared 13-0 1/4 (3.97m) in her first attempt to win the women's pole vault, while Nicole Baker tied for second with a height of 13-0 1/4 (3.97m) in her second attempt. Spencer Powell cleared 16-8 (5.08m) on his first attempt to win the men's section and Kevin Cahoy also went over 16-8 (5.08m) on his third attempt to finish as the runner-up.

Candice Dominguez won the women's high jump title with a jump of 5-7 (1.70m) on her first attempt. Petra Luteran (unattached) competed for the first time since missing last season with an injury and finished in second with a jump of 5-7 (1.70m) on her second attempt.

Miles Griffith won the men's high jump with a leap of 6-11 1/2 (2.12m). Mayson Conner took second with the same height, but Griffith won the jump-off.

Nebraska swept the long jump titles. Shylia Riley won the women's crown with a season-best leap of 20-3 3/4 (6.19m)w. Elijah Lucy took the men's title with a personal-best jump of 25-8 3/4 (7.84m)w. Jonathan Miller was first in the triple jump with a distance of 51-3 3/4 (15.65m)w.

On the track, both 4x100-meter relay teams set the tone early. The women's 4x100-meter team of Whitney Bridges, Lakayla Harris, Deja Ingram and Quashira McIntosh won with a season-best time of 47.33. The men's team of Noah Lukz, Tony Nou, Mason Hericks and Alex Nelson were next on the track and won the men's relay with a time of 40.19.

Jasmine Barge won the 100-meter hurdle title with a time of 13.23w and Chanel Freeman was second in 13.50w. Barge and Freeman have the current No. 1 and 2 times in the Big Ten now in the event. Barge also claimed the 400-meter crown with a PR time of 56.04.

The Husker women went 1-2-3 in the women's 100-meters, while the men went 1-2. Bridges won the women's section with a time of 11.73w, Quashira McIntosh was second in 11.80w and Deja Ingram finished third with a time of 11.83w. In the men's race, Isaiah Hutchinson claimed the crown in 10.52 and Alex Nelson was the runner-up with a time of 10.55.

Luke Siedhoff earned the victory in the 110-meter hurdles with a time of 13.86.

Judi Jones was the winner of the 1,500-meters with a personal-best time of 4:39.30. Ty Moss won the 800-meters with a season-best time of 1:49.41.

Nebraska was victorious in both of the 200-meter dashes. Harris took the women's title with a time of 23.75, while Mason Hericks won the men's race with a time of 20.93w.

The Huskers swept both of the 4x400-meter relays to wrap up the Husker Invitational. The women's relay of Barge, Michaela Peskova, Mia Morck and Chelsey Jones won with a season-best time of 3:44.45. The men's squad of Bryce Barrett, Givon Washington, Cody Mroczek and Nou finished with a time of 3:11.35 to claim the men's crown.

Nebraska will compete in the Crimson Tide Invitational on Thursday and Friday in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. The Division I schools of Alabama, Auburn, Florida State, Mississippi State and Southern Mississippi will also be participating in the meet.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub