Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Lincoln to Host Big Ten Championships This Weekend

By NU Athletic Communications

Lincoln, Neb. – The Big Ten Women’s Tennis Tournament bracket was released yesterday by the Big Ten conference after the regular season ended. 10 of the 14 teams in the conference will have the opportunity to compete at the conference championships, which will be hosted in Lincoln for the first time since the Huskers joined the Big Ten in 2011.


The event will be hosted at the Sid and Hazel Dillon Tennis Center which was completed in the summer of 2015. The Dillon Tennis Center was part of the $20.4 million Nebraska Soccer and Tennis Complex, which also includes Barbara Hibner Soccer Stadium.


The tennis center features six indoor courts and 12 outdoor courts with superior lighting and second-level seating that allows fans to watch every match. A total of 1,400 permanent seats are available in the combined indoor and outdoor areas for tennis.


The tournament will begin on Thursday, April 25 with the two first round matches between the #8/#9 seeds and #7/#10 seeds. Four quarterfinal matches will be played on Friday while the semifinals will take place on Saturday. The Big Ten Championship match will be the lone match on Sunday.


Michigan, the No. 16-ranked team in the nation according to the ITA Women’s Tennis rankings, won the Big Ten regular season title with a perfect 11-0 conference record. The Wolverines are also the defending Big Ten Tournament champions.


Ohio State (#18), Northwestern (#31), Illinois (#32) and Wisconsin (#42) could be Michigan’s biggest threats to defend their title.


The Huskers did not qualify for this weekend’s Big Ten Tournament. NU finished 12th in the regular season standings with a record of 10-17 (2-9 Big Ten).



Thursday, April 25 (1st Round) 

Match 1: 10 a.m.: #8 Michigan State vs. #9 Purdue - North Courts

Match 2: 2 p.m.: #7 Indiana vs. #10 Iowa - South Courts


Friday, April 26 (Quarterfinals) 

Match 3: 10 a.m.: #1 Michigan vs. Winner Match 1 - South Courts

Match 4: 10 a.m.: #4 Ohio State vs. #5 Northwestern - North Courts


Match 5: 2 p.m.: #2 Wisconsin vs. Winner Match 2 - South Courts

Match 6: 2 p.m.: #3 Illinois vs. #6 Minnesota - North Courts


Saturday, April 27 (Semifinals) 

Match 7: 10 a.m.: Winner Match 3 vs. Winner Match 4 - South Courts

Match 8: 2 p.m.: Winner Match 5 vs. Winner Match 6 South Courts


Sunday, April 28 (Finals) 

Match 9: Noon: Winner Match 7 vs. Winner Match 8 - South Courts


Media Credentials:

Any request for media credentials should contact the championship media coordinator, E.J. Stevens, at



The new facility is located on the east side of 14th street just south of Cornhusker Highway in the heart of Lincoln, with convenient access from campus, downtown, Cornhusker Highway and I-180. It also includes free parking for 600 vehicles in the adjacent lot on the southeast side of the outdoor courts.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub