Photo by Laura Leffler

Stephenson Earns Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship

By NU Athletic Communications

The Big Ten Conference office announced its annual postgraduate scholarship recipients on Thursday. Recent graduate and former Husker men’s gymnast, Anton Stephenson, was among the recipients of the scholarship. Two students from each of the 14 Big Ten institutions competing in intercollegiate athletics who plan to continue their education at a graduate degree program were each awarded a $7,500 scholarship.

Stephenson was one of three recipients to have also earned the Big Ten Medal of Honor from their respective schools this spring, alongside Sarah Johanek (Rutgers) and Annie Pankowski (Wisconsin). Stephenson was a Big Ten Champion in the vault and earned All-Big Ten first-team honors in 2018.

This year's recipients span 19 different sports and will continue their education in a variety of different disciplines, including: biochemistry, biological sciences, business, English, engineering physics, exercise science, healthcare management policy, kinesiology, mechanical engineering, movement and sports sciences, nutrition and health sciences, physical therapy, pre-medicine, pre-pharmacy, psychology, public health, speech language and hearing sciences, special education and women’s studies.

Each Big Ten institution developed its own on-campus selection process when awarding the scholarship. Students must have maintained at least a 3.2 grade-point-average, demonstrated leadership qualities, served as an excellent role model and intended to continue their academic work beyond their baccalaureate degree at a graduate degree program. In order to retain the scholarship, the recipient must be accepted into a full-time graduate degree program within three years from the fall semester after selection.

For more information and a complete list of scholarship recipients, visit


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub