Alyvia Simmons was one of three Husker softball players to earn academic All-Big Ten honors for the third time on Wednesday.
Photo by Isabel Thalken/Nebraska Communications

11 Softball Players Earn Academic All-Big Ten Accolades

By NU Athletic Communications

A total of 116 Nebraska student-athletes were recognized as Academic All-Big Ten honorees on Wednesday, when the conference announced its spring and at-large Academic All-Big Ten Teams, including 11 softball players. Bree Boruff, Bri Cassidy, Tristen Edwards, Olivia Ferrell, Lexey Kneib, Regan Mergele, Ally Riley, Alyvia Simmons, Madi Unzicker, Rylie Unzicker and Sarah Yocom were all honored for their work in the classroom this year.

Nebraska's 11 picks ranked third among Big Ten softball schools. Wisconsin and Ohio State each had 13 honorees, while Minnesota, Rutgers and Indiana also had 11. 

Cassidy, Simmons and Madi Unzicker led the group, earning the award for the third time in their careers. Boruff, Edwards and Kneib also received the award last year, while Ferrell, Mergele, Riley, Yocom and Rylie Unzicker were first-time recipients. 

A full list of the spring and at-large Academic All-Big Ten Teams is in the related links. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must have been enrolled fulltime at the institution for a minimum of 12 months and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub