Photo by Jessica Nichols/Huskers.com

Huskers Ramp Up Preparation for European Tour

By NU Athletic Communications

The Nebraska women's basketball team is making its final preparations for its upcoming European Tour to Italy and Spain, Aug. 1-11.

The Huskers, who have been training and practicing for the past several weeks in anticipation of the summer tour, will depart for Rome on Aug. 1, and will tour the Vatican, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's Basilica before competing in their first game of the tour on Aug. 3.

On Sunday, Aug. 4, the Huskers expect to have the opportunity to see the Pope in St. Peter's Square before touring the legendary Colosseum.

The team travels to Florence for its second competition of the tour on Aug. 5, before spending the next two days exploring the capital of Italy's Tuscany region.

Nebraska's tour of Europe shifts gears on Thursday, Aug. 8, when the Huskers fly to Barcelona. The Huskers will see the sites of the historic Spanish city before playing their final game of the tour on Friday, Aug. 9.

A mid-day Mediterranean cruise on Saturday, Aug. 10, will highlight Nebraska's final day in Europe, before the Huskers return to the United States on Sunday, Aug. 11.

Social media coverage throughout the tour will be available on the Nebraska women's basketball (@HuskersWBB) Twitter and Instagram accounts.

Nebraska Women's Basketball
European Tour Itinerary

(Italy & Spain, Aug. 1-11)

Thursday, August 1
Depart for Rome

Friday, August 2
Arrive Rome

Saturday, August 3
Tour Vatican, Sistine Chapel, St. Peter's Basilica
Game #1 (Rome)

Sunday, August 4
St. Peter's Square
Tour the Colosseum

Monday, August 5
Depart for Florence (mid-day stop in Siena)
Game #2 (Florence)

Tuesday, August 6
Tour Florence

Wednesday, August 7
Cooking Classes in Florence

Thursday, August 8
Depart for Barcelona
Tour Barcelona

Friday, August 9
Tour Sagrada Familia
Game #3 (Barcelona)

Saturday, August 10
Sailing Cruise on Mediterranean Sea

Sunday, August 11
Return to United States

MORE NEWS

More News Sponsor - First National Bank

TICKETS

Tickets Sponsor - StubHub