Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Husker Football From A to Z

By NU Athletic Communications

A - Academics - Nebraska leads the nation in CoSIDA Academic All-Americans with 108 football honorees, and a nation-leading 333 across all sports.

B - Bugeaters - One of the nicknames for Nebraska's football team before changing to Cornhuskers in 1900.  

C - Conference titles - Nebraska has won or shared 43 conference titles, including 12 in the Missouri Valley, nine in the Big Six, 20 in the Big Eight and two in the Big 12. Nebraska won the final five Big Eight titles, including the last four outright. The Huskers won the first Missouri Valley title in 1907, and closed out the Big Eight with a title in 1995. With Big 12 Conference titles in 1997 and 1999, Nebraska has won conference titles in four different leagues (Missouri Valley, Big Six, Big Eight, Big 12) entering its sixth season of competition in the Big Ten in 2016.

Bob DevaneyD - Devaney, Bob - Nebraska's Hall of Fame Coach, who guided Nebraska to a 101-20-2 record and two national titles in 11 years as head coach (1962-72). He also served as Nebraska's athletic director for 26 years before retiring in January of 1993. Devaney passed away on May 9, 1997.

E - Ebenezer and Elmer - Ebenezer E. Mockett was selected as the team captain for Nebraska's first football team in 1890. Elmer Dohrmann is the all-time leading letterwinner at Nebraska, earning 11 letters, including three each in football, basketball and baseball and two in track.

F - Frazier, Tommie - One of the most decorated players in Nebraska history. Frazier led Nebraska to back-to-back national championships in 1994 and 1995 and won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. He was a consensus first-team All-American in 1995. He compiled a 33-3 record as Nebraska's starting quarterback. He was voted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2013.

G - Gotham Bowl - The site of Nebraska's first-ever postseason bowl victory. The Huskers defeated Miami, 36-34, in the Dec. 15, 1962, game played at Yankee Stadium in New York City. Nebraska appeared in bowl games in 35 consecutive seasons (1969-2003) and has made 47 bowl appearances overall.

H - Homecoming - Nebraska has a 81-23-4 record all-time on Homecoming Day in Lincoln. The Huskers won 36 straight Homecoming contests (1969-2004), including a 24-3 victory over Missouri in 2004. Kansas is Nebraska's most frequent Homecoming opponent and victim, with Nebraska owning a 22-6-2 record vs. KU on Homecoming. 

I - Indoor Practice Facilities - Nebraska enjoys a pair of full-sized indoor practice facilities with the addition of the Hawks Championship Center as part of the Memorial Stadium Expansion Project. Open in the spring of 2006, the Hawks Championship Center features identical FieldTurf to Memorial Stadium. Nebraska's first indoor practice facility - Cook Pavilion - was completed in 1987.

2001 Huskers at the Rose BowlJ - January - Nebraska has played in January bowl games a total of 35 times. The Huskers have captured three of their national championships with victories on Jan. 1, their other two were earned with victories on Jan. 2. Nebraska played in its most recent January bowl game following the 2013 season, when the Huskers beat Georgia in the 2014 Gator Bowl.

K - Kansas - Nebraska's oldest rival. The two teams have met 117 times, marking the country's third-longest series. The series was continuous from 1906 (105 seasons) and became the longest continuous series in I-A in 1998. Nebraska holds a 91-23-3 record in the series and won 36 straight games from 1969 to 2004.

Lombardi AwardL - Lombardi Award - Nebraska is tied for second in the nation with five Lombardi Award winners. Middle guard Rich Glover won the award in 1972, center Dave Rimington and offensive guard Dean Steinkuhler won the trophy in back-to-back seasons in 1982 and 1983, rush end Grant Wistrom won the award in 1997, and defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh became NU's fifth recipient in 2009.

M - Memorial Stadium - Nebraska's home since its construction in 1923. The Huskers own an all-time record of 421-135-13. The Huskers also own an NCAA record 368 consecutive sellouts at Memorial Stadium entering the 2019 season. Stadium capacity surpassed 90,000 with the addition to East Stadium for the 2013 season.

N - NFL - Nebraska owns one of the most glorious histories of any school represented by players in the National Football League. More than 300 former Huskers have represented Nebraska in the NFL. Nebraska led all Big 12 schools with 72 players chosen in the NFL Draft. Since 1962, Nebraska has averaged nearly six NFL Draft selections per year, including an amazing total of 50 offensive linemen.

O - Orange Bowl - Nebraska has played in 17 Orange Bowls, including six appearances in the 1990s. The Huskers claimed four of their five national championships by winning Orange Bowl games in Miami.

P - Polls - Nebraska was ranked in 348 consecutive Associated Press polls from 1981 to 2002.

Eric CrouchQ - Quarterbacks - In 2001, Eric Crouch became the 11th Husker quarterback to earn first-team all-conference honors since 1973. Crouch also became the first Nebraska quarterback to win the Heisman Trophy, the Davey O'Brien Award and the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award. Crouch was Nebraska's third Heisman Trophy winner and became just the third quarterback in NCAA history to pass for more than 4,000 yards and rush for more than 3,000 yards in his career.

R - Rodgers and Rozier - Johnny Rodgers and Mike Rozier, two of Nebraska's three Heisman Trophy winners. Rodgers, a wingback, won the award in 1972, while Rozier, an All-America I-back, won the trophy in 1983.

Memorial StadiumS - Sellouts - Memorial Stadium has been sold out for 368 consecutive games, dating back to the Nov. 3, 1962, contest against Missouri. The Huskers celebrated their 300th consecutive sellout at Memorial Stadium with a 55-0 win over Louisiana-Lafayette on Sept. 26, 2009.

T - Thanksgiving - Nebraska is a regular fixture on the Thanksgiving college football menu. The Huskers have played 33 games on Thanksgiving in 128 years of college football. Nebraska's most recent Thanksgiving Day game was in 1972. The Huskers have also played numerous games on the Friday after Thanksgiving in recent years. Nebraska was 11-4 against Colorado on the Friday after Thanksgiving dating back to the 1996 season. The Huskers began a new tradition with the Heroes Game against Iowa on the Friday after Thanksgiving in 2011. Nebraska won the first two contests, before the Hawkeyes won the 2013 meeting, Nebraska bounced back with an overtime win in Iowa City in 2014, while Iowa has won the last four meetings.

U - Undefeated - Nebraska has posted 11 undefeated seasons in school history and nine perfect unbeaten and untied seasons.

V - Victories - Nebraska has recorded 897 victories in 129 seasons of intercollegiate football. The Huskers rank fourth in Division I in victories.

W - White House - The 1994 and 1997 Husker football teams visited the White House after their national championship seasons. In January 1971, former President Richard Nixon came to Lincoln for the Huskers' national championship celebration at the NU Coliseum.

Dana X BibleX - Xenophon - The middle name of Dana X. Bible, Nebraska's head coach from 1929 to 1936. Bible posted a 50-15-7 record and guided Nebraska to six conference championships.

Y - YMCA (Omaha) - Nebraska's first opponent. The Huskers defeated the Omaha YMCA, 10-0, on Nov. 27, 1890, in Omaha.

Z - Zero - The number of points Nebraska's opponents have scored during the 103 all-time shutouts produced by the Husker Blackshirts.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub