1 of 2

Bob Devaney Sports Center

By NU Athletic Communications
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

One of the finest gymnastics facilities in the nation, the 13,500-seat Bob Devaney Sports Center has been the home of Nebraska gymnastics for over 20 years. Named after Bob Devaney, Nebraska's highly successful football coach and athletic director (1962-93), the building was opened in the fall of 1976 and is located on the Nebraska State Fairgrounds. The building, a $13-million dollar project, houses the Husker basketball, gymnastics, track, swimming and wrestling teams. A number of other activities, including concerts and commencements, are held in the arena. Since its opening, the Devaney Center had hosted 24 conference or NCAA events in men's and women's gymnastics, including 10 NCAA Men's Championships and two NCAA regional championships. In 1999, Nebraska hosted the NCAA women's regional and the men's national championship and played host to the 2003 Women's NCAA Gymnastics Championships this past April.

Before the 1999-2000 season, the Bob Devaney Sports Center underwent $7.9 million in renovations inside the arena and in the concourse areas. Two HuskerVision replay screens were added inside the arena, along with stat boards and digital message boards. A new sound system, lighting system and ring of honor will add to the atmosphere in the arena, as will the addition of chairback seating on the arena floor. Expanded handicapped seating and increased chairback seating reduced the Devaney Center's capacity from 14,000 to 13,500. In addition to the improvements in the main arena, the main concourse received extensive renovations, with the addition of a Husker Hall of Honor and a Husker Walk of Fame. The displays in the concourse areas highlight more than 100 years of Nebraska athletics and 25 years of Husker women's sports.

Gymnastics Championships at the Bob Devaney Sports Center


  • 1978 Big Eight Women's Championship
  • 1978 Big Eight Men's Championships
  • 1980 Men's NCAA Championships
  • 1981 Men's NCAA Championships
  • 1982 Big Eight Men's Championships
  • 1982 Men's NCAA Championships
  • 1985 Big Eight Women's Championship
  • 1985 Big Eight Men's Championships
  • 1985 Men's NCAA Championships
  • 1986 Men's NCAA Championships
  • 1988 Big Eight Men's Championships
  • 1988 Men's NCAA Championships
  • 1989 Men's NCAA Championships
  • 1990 Big Eight Women's Championship
  • 1991 Big Eight Men's Championships
  • 1992 Men's NCAA Championships
  • 1994 Big Eight Women's Championship
  • 1994 Big Eight Men's Championships
  • 1994 Men's NCAA Championships
  • 1995 Women's NCAA Midwest Regional
  • 1997 Men's Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Championships
  • 1998 Big 12 Women's Championships
  • 1999 Women's NCAA Regional
  • 1999 Men's NCAA Championship
  • 2001 Women's NCAA Regional
  • 2002 Big 12 Women's Championship
  • 2003 Men's Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Championships
  • 2003 NCAA Women's Championships 
1 of 2


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub