Lavonte David is Nebraska's first Butkus Award Finalist since 1994
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

David Named Butkus Award Finalist

By NU Athletic Communications

Lincoln -- Nebraska linebacker Lavonte David was named one of six finalists for the 27th annual Butkus Award on Tuesday morning.

David is the fourth Husker to be a finalist for this prestigious honor and looks to join 1993 winner Trev Alberts as Nebraska's second Butkus award winner. Nebraska's other finalists were Broderick Thomas (1988) and Ed Stewart (1994).

On the season, the 6-foot-1, 225-pounder leads the Huskers with 114 tackles, including 52 solo stops. The senior tops the Huskers with 10 tackles for loss and also leads the Blackshirts with a pair of interceptions. David had a season-high 17 tackles against Michigan on Saturday, one of five double-digit tackle performances in 2011. He is the fifth Husker in school history to record consecutive 100-tackle seasons.

David ranks seventh on Nebraska's career tackles list with 226 in just two seasons in the program and could move into the top five on the Huskers' career chart with eight tackles against Iowa. As a junior, he set a program record with 152 tackles to lead the Big 12.

The other five finalists were Dont'a Hightower (Alabama), Jarvis Jones (Georgia), Luke Kuechly (Boston College), Manti Te'o (Notre Dame) and Courtney Upshaw (Alabama). The winner will be announced on or before December 7.

Butkus Award Collegiate Finalists:

  • Lavonte David, Nebraska
  • Dont'a Hightower, Alabama
  • Jarvis Jones, Georgia
  • Luke Kuechly, Boston College
  • Manti Te'o, Notre Dame
  • Courtney Upshaw, Alabama


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub