Ryne Reeves earned Academic All-Big Ten honors for the fourth consecutive year.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Hovey, Reeves Lead Academic All-Big Ten Recipients

By NU Athletic Communications

The Big Ten Conference announced its fall Academic All-Big Ten honorees on Wednesday, including 22 members of the Husker football team.

The 22 football student-athletes named to the Academic All-Big Ten team include four-time academic all-conference selection Ryne Reeves and five players who earned the honor for the third time in their Nebraska careers.

Among the three-time selections is receiver Lane Hovey, who was one of five football student-athletes and 21 overall Big Ten student-athletes recognized for maintaining a perfect 4.0 grade-point average. An Adel, Iowa native, Hovey is majoring in business administration.

In addition to Hovey, the other three-time Academic All-Big Ten selections include senior receiver Taariq Allen, junior tight end Sam Cotton, junior receiver Brandon Reilly and senior tight end David Sutton. Four other Husker football student-athletes earned Academic All-Big Ten honors for a second time including junior linebacker Josh Banderas, junior defensive tackle Maliek Collins, sophomore fullback Harrison Jordan and sophomore linebacker Chris Weber.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

The 22 football student-athletes were among a group of 51 Nebraska student-athletes earning Academic All-Big Ten honors in their respective sports. The group includes 11 members of the soccer program, eight volleyball student-athletes and five members of both the men’s and women’s cross country teams. 

Football Academic All-Big Ten Selections
(Year listed reflects academic standing, not eligibility)

Freedom Akinmoladun, Soph., Psychology, Grandview, Mo.
Taariq Allen, Sr., Child, Youth & Family Studies, Weston, Mass. (3-x honoree)
Josh Banderas, Jr., Management, Lincoln, Neb. (2x)
Byerson Cockrell, Sr., Sociology, Columbus, Miss.
Maliek Collins, Jr., Sociology, Kansas City, Mo. (2x)
Sam Cotton, Jr., Business Administration/Marketing, Lincoln, Neb. (3x)
Jerald Foster, Soph., Construction Management, Lincoln, Neb.
Luke Gifford, Soph., Business Administration, Lincoln, Neb.
Sam Hahn, Sr., Agronomy, DeWitt, Neb.
Lane Hovey, Sr., Business Administration, Adel, Iowa (3x)
Chris Jones, Soph., Sociology, Jacksonville, Fla.
Harrison Jordan, Jr., Business Administration, Omaha, Neb. (2x)
Joshua Kalu, Soph., Nutrition Science, Houston, Texas
Chris Long, Sr., Child, Youth & Family Studies, Blair, Neb.
Luke McNitt, Jr., Business Administration, Kearney, Neb.
Ryne Reeves, Sr., Economics, Crete, Neb. (4x)
Brandon Reilly, Sr., Marketing, Lincoln, Neb. (3x)
Anthony Ridder, Sr., Psychology, West Point, Neb.
Mick Stoltenberg, Jr., Business Administration, Gretna, Neb.
David Sutton, Sr., Management/Marketing, Lincoln, Neb. (3x)
Dylan Utter, Sr., History, Papillion, Neb.
Chris Weber, Sr., Nutrition Science, Omaha, Neb. (2x)


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub