Heisman Trophy History
Courtesy: NU Athletic Communications
Print RSS
Courtesy: Alan Jackson

College football's most prestigious award, the Heisman Memorial Trophy, is presented annually to the nation's outstanding player.

The trophy was originally presented in 1935 as the DAC Trophy by the Downtown Athletic Club of New York City. That year, the honor went to the best college football player east of the Mississippi River. In 1936, players across the country became eligible, and the award was renamed the Heisman Memorial Trophy to honor former college coach and DAC athletic director John W. Heisman, who died that year.

Three Huskers-Johnny Rodgers in 1972, Mike Rozier in 1983 and Eric Crouch in 2001-have had the honor of receiving the award, which was voted on by 924 voters in 2001.

Rodgers, a wingback who still owns many school records, won the award after his senior season when he amassed more than 2,000 all-purpose yards and 17 touchdowns. He received 1,310 points, easily topping Oklahoma's Greg Pruitt (901) and Husker Rich Glover (652).

Rozier became Nebraska's second Heisman winner after rushing for 2,148 yards and 29 touchdowns as a senior in 1983. Rozier, who helped the Huskers average 52 points per game, received 1,801 points, finishing ahead of runner-up Steve Young of BYU (1,172) and Doug Flutie of Boston College (235).

Crouch, who spent his four-year career rewriting Nebraska's quarterback records, became the third quarterback in NCAA Division I-A history to rush for 3,000 yards and pass for 4,000 yards in a career. The two-time Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year finished with 3,434 career rushing yards, smashing NU's quarterback rushing mark. He finished third on NU's career passing charts with 4,481 yards to amass a school-record 7,915 career total offense yards.

Crouch finished with 770 points, surpassing the 708 points received by Florida quarterback Rex Grossman and the 638 points picked up by Miami quarterback Ken Dorsey. Crouch became the 21st quarterback in history to win the Heisman, but the first true option quarterback.

In addition to Rodgers, Rozier and Crouch, a pair of Huskers have also finished second in the balloting-Sam Francis in 1936 and Tommie Frazier in 1995-while 12 other Huskers have placed in the top 10 in their respective years, most recently defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh, who finished fourth in Heisman voting in 2009.

All-Time Heisman Trophy Winners
1935--Jay Berwanger, Chicago, HB
1936--Larry Kelley, Yale, E
1937--Clint Frank, Yale, HB
1938--Davey O'Brien, TCU, QB
1939--Nile Kinnick, Iowa, HB
1940--Tom Harmon, Michigan, HB
1941--Bruce Smith, Minnesota, HB
1942--Frank Sinkwich, Georgia, HB
1943--Angelo Bertelli, Notre Dame, QB
1944--Les Horvath, Ohio State, QB
1945--Doc Blanchard, Army, FB*
1946--Glenn Davis, Army, HB
1947--John Lujack, Notre Dame, QB
1948--Doak Walker, SMU, HB*
1949--Leon Hart, Notre Dame, E
1950--Vic Janowicz, Ohio State, HB*
1951--Dick Kazmaier, Princeton, HB
1952--Billy Vessels, Oklahoma, HB
1953--John Lattner, Notre Dame, HB
1954--Alan Ameche, Wisconsin, FB
1955--Howard Cassady, Ohio State, HB
1956--Paul Hornung, Notre Dame, QB
1957--John David Crow, Texas A&M, HB
1958--Pete Dawkins, Army, HB
1959--Billy Cannon, LSU, HB
1960--Joe Bellino, Navy, HB
1961--Ernie Davis, Syracuse, HB
1962--Terry Baker, Oregon State, QB
1963--Roger Staubach, Navy, QB*
1964--John Huarte, Notre Dame, QB
1965--Mike Garrett, USC, HB
1966--Steve Spurrier, Florida, QB
1967--Gary Beban, UCLA, QB
1968--O.J. Simpson, USC, HB
1969--Steve Owens, Oklahoma, HB
1970--Jim Plunkett, Stanford, QB
1971--Pat Sullivan, Auburn, QB
1972--Johnny Rodgers, Nebraska, WB
1973--John Cappelletti, Penn State, HB
1974--Archie Griffin, Ohio State, HB*
1975--Archie Griffin, Ohio State,HB
1976--Tony Dorsett, Pittsburgh, HB
1977--Earl Campbell, Texas, HB
1978--Billy Sims, Oklahoma, HB*
1979--Charles White, USC, HB
1980--George Rogers, South Carolina, HB
1981--Marcus Allen, USC, HB
1982--Herschell Walker, Georgia, HB*
1983--Mike Rozier, Nebraska, IB
1984--Doug Flutie, Boston College, QB
1985--Bo Jackson, Auburn, HB
1986--Vinny Testaverde, Miami, QB
1987--Tim Brown, Notre Dame, SE
1988--Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State, HB*
1989--Andre Ware, Houston, QB*
1990--Ty Detmer, BYU, QB*
1991--Desmond Howard, Michigan, WR*
1992 --Gino Torretta, Miami, QB
1993--Charlie Ward, Florida State, QB
1994--Rashaan Salaam, Colorado, IB*
1995--Eddie George, Ohio State, RB
1996--Danny Wuerffel, Florida, QB
1997--Charles Woodson, Michigan, CB*
1998--Ricky Williams, Texas, RB
1999--Ron Dayne, Wisconsin, RB
2000--Chris Weinke, Florida State, QB
2001--Eric Crouch, Nebraska, QB
2002 -- Carson Palmer, USC, QB
2003 -- Jason White, Oklahoma, QB*
2004 -- Matt Leinart, USC, QB*
2005 -- Reggie Bush, USC, RB*
2006 -- Troy Smith, Ohio State
2007 -- Tim Tebow, Florida, QB**
2008 -- Sam Bradford, Oklahoma, QB**
2009 -- Mark Ingram, Alabama, RB
2010 -- Cam Newton, Auburn, QB
2011 -- Robert Griffin III, Baylor, QB*
2012 -- Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, QB***
2013 -- Jameis Winston, Florida State, QB***
2014 -- Marcus Mariota, Oregon, QB*
2015 -- Derrick Henry, Alabama, RB*
*Indicates junior winners of Heisman
**Indicates sophomore winner of Heisman
***Indicates freshman winner of Heisman


Heisman Trophy Top 10 (1935-present):
Sam Francis, 1936 – 2nd (Fullback, 1934-36, Oberlin, Kan.)
Received 47 points as runner up to Larry Kelley of Yale
Bobby Reynolds, 1950 – 5th (Halfback, 1950-52, Grand Island, Neb.)
Jerry Tagge, 1971 -- 7th (Quarterback, 1969-71, Green Bay, Wis.)
Rich Glover, 1972 – 3rd (Middle Guard, 1970-72, Jersey City, N.J.)
Dave Humm, 1974 – 5th (Quarterback, 1972-74, Las Vegas, Nev.)
Jarvis Redwine, 1980 -- 8th (I-Back, 1979-80, Inglewood, Calif.)
Dave Rimington, 1982 – 5th (Center, 1979-82, Omaha, Neb.)
Mike Rozier, 1982 -- 10th (I-Back, 1981-83, Camden, N.J.)
Turner Gill, 1983 – 4th (Quarterback, 1981-83, Fort Worth, Texas)
Lawrence Phillips, 1994 -- 8th (I-Back, 1993-95, West Covina, Calif.)
Zach Wiegert, 1994 – Tied for 9th (Offensive Tackle, 1991-94, Fremont, Neb.)
Tommie Frazier, 1995 – 2nd (Quarterback, 1992-95, Bradenton, Fla.)
Received 1,196 points as runner up to Eddie George of Ohio State
Ndamukong Suh, 2009 – 4th (Defensive Tackle, 2006-09, Portland, Ore.)

JV Team 300x250

Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad