Lombardi Award History
Courtesy: NU Athletic Communications
Print RSS
Courtesy: Alan Jackson

The Rotary Lombardi Award is hosted by the Rotary Club of Houston and benefits the American Cancer Society. The Award was initiated by the Rotary Club in 1970 shortly after the death of Vince Lombardi to cancer.

The Rotary Lombardi Award goes annually to the college football lineman -- offense or defense -- who, in addition to outstanding performance and ability, best exemplifies the discipline of Vince Lombardi. As the legendary coach of the Green Bay Packers, Lombardi first made a name for himself as the smallest but toughest member of Fordham University's "Seven Blocks of Granite," renowned in their day (1934-37) for being the most unyielding line in college football.

Appropriately, the trophy is a 40-pound block of granite atop a silver pedestal built over a foundation of discipline. The symbolic design was created by Houston Rotarian and professional artist, Mark Storm.

A distinguished committee of over 300 of America's most prominent college football coaches, football writers, sports broadcasters and previous Rotary Lombardi Award winners, participate in a three-tiered balloting process.

Nebraska's five winners tie Notre Dame for second all-time, while five other Huskers have been selected as finalists since the award was initially presented in 1970. Ohio State leads the list with six awards.

Defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh (2009) is Nebraska's most recent winner of the award.

All-Time Lombardi Award
(Awarded to the nation's top collegiate lineman)
1970 -- Jim Stillwagon, Ohio State*
1971 -- Walt Patulski, Notre Dame
1972 -- Rich Glover, Nebraska*
1973 -- John Hicks, Ohio State*
1974 -- Randy White, Maryland*
1975 -- Lee Roy Selmon, Oklahoma*
1976 -- Wilson Whitley, Houston
1977 -- Ross Browner, Notre Dame
1978 -- Bruce Clark, Penn State
1979 -- Brad Budde, USC
1980 -- Hugh Green, Pittsburgh
1981 -- Kenneth Sims, Texas
1982 -- Dave Rimington, Nebraska*
1983 -- Dean Steinkuhler, Nebraska*
1984 -- Tony Degrate, Texas
1985 -- Tony Casillas, Oklahoma
1986 -- Cornelius Bennett, Alabama
1987 -- Chris Spielman, Ohio State
1988 -- Tracy Rocker, Auburn*
1989 -- Percy Snow, Michigan State
1990 -- Chris Zorich, Notre Dame
1991 -- Steve Emtman, Washington*
1992 -- Marvin Jones, Florida State
1993 -- Aaron Taylor, Notre Dame
1994 -- Warren Sapp, Miami
1995 -- Orlando Pace, Ohio State
1996 -- Orlando Pace, Ohio State*
1997 -- Grant Wistrom, Nebraska
1998 -- Dat Nguyen, Texas A&M
1999 -- Corey Moore, Virginia Tech
2000 -- Jamal Reynolds, Florida State

2001 -- Julius Peppers, North Carolina
2002 -- Terrell Suggs, Arizona State
2003 -- Tommie Harris, Oklahoma
2004 -- David Pollack, Georgia
2005 -- A.J. Hawk, Ohio State
2006 -- LaMarr Woodley, Michigan
2007 -- Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 -- Brian Orapko, Texas
2009 -- Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska*
2010 -- Nick Fairley, Auburn
2011 -- Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 -- Manti Te'o, Notre Dame
2013 -- Aaron Donald, Pitt
2014 -- Scooby Wright III - Arizona
2015 -- Carl Nassib, Penn State

Husker Finalists
1971--Rich Glover, DT
1971- Larry Jacobson, MG
1988--Broderick Thomas, DE
1994--Zach Wiegert, OT
1996--Jared Tomich, RE
2000--Dominic Raiola, C
*honoree swept both the Outland Trophy and Lombardi Award for that year.


JV Team 300x250

Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad