Rimington Award History
Courtesy: NU Athletic Communications
Print RSS
Courtesy: None

Awarded to the nation's top center - The award is named for Dave Rimington, college football's most decorated offensive lineman. Rimington is the only player ever to win the Outland Trophy twice, the former University of Nebraska center also won the Lombardi Rotary Award in 1982 and was named a two-time consensus All-America center and two-time Academic All-American.)


The winner of the Rimington Trophy will be selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from four existing All America Teams.


While more than a dozen All-America football teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee will use these four prestigious teams to determine a winner:


All-Time Rimington Award

(Award to nation's top center)

2000 -- Dominic Raiola, Nebraska
2001 -- LeCharles Bentley, Ohio State
2002 -- Brett Romberg, Miami
2003 -- Jake Grove, Virginia Tech
2004 -- David Baas, Michigan/Ben Wilkerson, LSU
2005 -- Greg Eslinger, Minnesota
2006 -- Dan Mozes, West Virginia
2007 -- Jonathan Luigs, Arkansas
2008 -- A.Q. Shipley, Penn State
2009 -- Maurkice Pouncey, Florida

2010 -- Jake Kilpatrick, TCU
2011 -- David Molk, Michigan
2012 -- Barrett Jones, Alabama
2013 -- Bryan Stork, Florida State
2014 -- Reese Dismukes, Auburn
2015 -- Ryan Kelly, Alabama

  • American Football Coaches Association (AFCA)
  • Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)
  • Sporting News (SN)
  • Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)

The Rimington Trophy also uses these four teams to determine the winner of the center award. Because the selectors of these four All-America teams can place centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two centers. Our policy will be to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they maybe listed as guards or tackles on the four All American teams.

The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, thewinner will be determined by the Rimington Trophy committee.

JV Team 300x250

Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad