The Brook Berringer Citizenship Team will be honored on Saturday before the game.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

18 Huskers Earn Spots on Berringer Team

By NU Athletic Communications
The Nebraska Athletic Department has announced that 18 members of the Huskers' 2009 football team have been named to the 13th annual Brook Berringer Citizenship Team. The student-athletes will be honored on the field before kickoff of Saturday's Red-White Spring Game at Memorial Stadium.

The Brook Berringer Citizenship Team was established by the Husker football program in honor of former Nebraska quarterback Brook Berringer, who died in a plane crash in April of 1996. Berringer was a member of NU's back-to-back national championship teams in 1994 and 1995. He was also one of the most dedicated Husker volunteers in the community with youth, both in Nebraska and in his hometown of Goodland, Kan. The team honors players who display a similar love and dedication for volunteering in the community.

This year's Berringer Citizenship Team is headlined by seven players who are repeat honorees to the squad. Former linebacker Blake Lawrence was named to the team for the third straight season, while cornerback Anthony Blue, place-kicker Alex Henery, wide receiver Will Henry, offensive tackle Marcel Jones, cornerback Marcus Mendoza and defensive back Lance Thorell were named to the team for the second time.

Eleven additional players are being honored for the first time in their careers. The group includes cornerback Prince Amukamara, I-back Rex Burkhead, tight end Ben Cotton, defensive tackle Jared Crick, quarterback Cody Green, linebacker Thomas Grove, fullback Mike Hays, I-back Austin Jones, offensive tackle D.J. Jones, quarterback Zac Lee and tight end Kyler Reed.

The football team has continued to be among Nebraska's most active teams in the local community. The squad has been a finalist for the Life Skills Team Award each of the past five seasons.

Associate Athletic Director for Life Skills Keith Zimmer will make the presentation to the Berringer team recipients, along with Brook's mother, Jan, and sister, Dreu.

In addition to the Berringer Team, 2009 senior center Jacob Hickman will be honored on Saturday as the recipient of the fourth annual Cletus Fischer Endowed Scholarship. The scholarship is presented annually to a Nebraska football player who has demonstrated a high level of athletic and academic achievement and intends to pursue a career as a high school or college coach.

2010 Brook Berringer Citizenship Team (years on team)

  • Prince Amukamara (2010)
  • Anthony Blue (2009, 2010)
  • Rex Burkhead (2010)
  • Ben Cotton (2010)
  • Jared Crick (2010)
  • Cody Green (2010)
  • Thomas Grove (2010)
  • Michael Hays (2010)
  • Alex Henery (2009, 2010)
  • Will Henry (2007, 2010)
  • Austin Jones (2010)
  • D.J. Jones (2010)
  • Marcel Jones (2009, 2010)
  • Blake Lawrence (2008, 2009, 2010)
  • Zac Lee (2010)
  • Marcus Mendoza (2009, 2010)
  • Kyler Reed (2010)
  • Lance Thorell (2009, 2010)


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub