Sydney Anderson has been named a finalist for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Anderson Named Senior CLASS Award Finalist

By NU Athletic Communications
Lincoln - Nebraska senior setter Sydney Anderson was named one of 10 finalists for the 2010 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award on Monday, Oct. 11 for women's volleyball.

A two-time AVCA All-American, Anderson started the 2010 season ranked ninth on Nebraska's career assists chart with 2,683 assists and has already moved up to seventh on the all-time list with 369 assists this season. With another 252 assists in 2010 the Salt Lake City, Utah, native will overtake Val Novak (3,303) for the No. 4 spot on the all-time list.

Picked as a 2010 Preseason All-Big 12 performer by the league's coaches, Anderson and sophomore Lauren Cook have shared the setter position this season in Nebraska's 6-2 rotation. The two have combined for 741 assists to help the Huskers hit .275, a top-25 mark nationally.

Voted a team captain for the second straight season in 2010, Anderson has been active in Nebraska's outreach programs throughout her career. This past summer, Anderson and her teammates participated in a clinic for the Special Olympics USA National Games.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 candidates that was announced in August. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to determine the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote via the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award website through November 23. Fan votes will be combined with media and coaches votes to determine the winner.

Lowe's, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award® winner during the 2010 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship in Kansas City in mid-December.

Fan balloting consists for one-third of the total vote and is available right now on the award's official web site:, while Anderson's profile is listed here: Fans can vote as many times as they want, but are limited to one entry per day.

The other nine finalists include Ellie Blankenship (Northern Iowa), Laura DeBruler (Illinois), Allyson Doyle (Western Michigan), Francie Ekwerekwu (Oklahoma), Lauren Gibbemeyer (Minnesota), Jenna Hagglund (Washington), Alix Klineman (Stanford), Carlie Lloyd (Cal) and Arielle Wilson (Penn State).


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub