Mary Weatherholt earned her second consecutive Big Ten women's tennis Athlete of the Year.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Three Husker Seniors Earn Big Ten Honors

By NU Athletic Communications

Bloomington, Ind. - Three Nebraska women's tennis senior players were awarded conference honors at the Big Ten Tournament banquet on Thurday night. Senior Mary Weatherholt earned her second consecutive Big Ten Women's Tennis Athlete of the Year and was a unanimous selection for first-team All-Big Ten for the 2013 season, after being awarded the same honors in 2012. Fellow senior Patricia Veresova was named as a first-team All-Big Ten choice, and senior Stefanie Weinstein received second-team All-Big Ten honors.

Weatherholt received her second Big Ten women's tennis Athlete-of-the-Year award after accumulating a perfect 11-0 in Big Ten singles from the No. 1 spot and an undefeated 9-0 in Big Ten doubles at the No. 1 position with partner Veresova. Weatherholt also gained her second unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selection. The native of Prairie Village, Kan. is currently ranked No. 11 nationally in singles, her personal highest and the all-time high in school history. She has earned a 40-3 combined record (22-1 singles, 18-2 doubles) has sealed her as the best Nebraska player in history. Her 115 career singles is first all-time for NU, her 196 combined wins is first for career combined wins, and her 81 career doubles individual wins is third all-time for Nebraska. Weatherholt also took home one of 12 Big Ten Sportsmanship Awards, one being awarded to a player from each university.

Veresova picked up her second Big Ten all-conference honors with her first-team All-Big Ten selection, moving up from 2012's second-team All-Big Ten choice. Veresova, a native of Piestany, Slovakia, played primarily at No. 2 singles and No. 1 doubles with Weatherholt. She racked up a 42-12 combined record (21-9 singles, 21-3 doubles) this season including a 9-2 Big Ten singles mark and a perfect 9-0 Big Ten doubles mark with partner Weatherholt.

Weinstein earned her first Big Ten all-conference award being selected for second-team All-Big Ten honors. Her last all-conference award was in 2010 when she was chosen for the All-Big 12 Doubles Team. Weinstein has amassed a 46-14 combined record this season, including a 21-10 singles mark and a 25-4 doubles mark. She is 7-2 in Big Ten singles this spring at the No. 3 position and 11-0 in Big Ten doubles at the No. 2 spot with Janine Weinreich. Weinstein's 46 combined wins has pushed her career combined wins total to 181 to be tied at No. 2 on the all-time list for Nebraska with former teammate Madeleine Geibert. One more victory would see her past Geibert and situated behind fellow Husker Weatherholt. Weinstein's 94 career doubles individual wins sees her to the top of the all-time Nebraska list. Her 25 doubles team wins alongside Weinreich over the 2012-13 season puts them at No. 4 on the all-time list.

No. 16 Nebraska are seeded second for the Big Ten Tournament, earning them a first round bye this weekend. The Huskers will face the tenth-seeded Minnesota on Friday, April 26 at 1 p.m. (CT) in Bloomington, Ind.



First-Team All-Big Ten
Allison Falkin, Illinois
Katie Klyczek, Indiana
Ruth Seaborne, Iowa
Brooke Bolender, Michigan
Patricia Veresova, Nebraska
Belinda Niu, Northwestern
Kate Turvy, Northwestern

Second-Team All-Big Ten
Melissa Kopinski, Illinois
Sarah Lee, Michigan
Natallia Pintusava, Minnesota
Stefanie Weinstein, Nebraska
Veronica Corning, Northwestern
Mara Schmidt, Purdue 

*Unanimous selections in CAPS


Athlete of the Year: Mary Weatherholt, Nebraska
Freshman of the Year: Ronit Yurovsky, Michigan
Coach of the Year: Ronni Bernstein, Michigan

Audrey O’Connor, Illinois
Leslie Hureau, Indiana
Morven McCulloch, Iowa
Sarah Lee, Michigan
Nicole Herzog, Michigan State
Tereza Brichacova, Minnesota
Mary Weatherholt, Nebraska
Veronica Corning, Northwestern
Kelsey Dieters, Ohio State
Jacqueline Zuhse, Penn State
Krisztina Kapitany, Purdue
Helen Rabot, Wisconsin


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub