The Big 12 champion Huskers celebrated the season at their year-end awards banquet.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Huskers Celebrate Record Year at Postseason Banquet

By NU Athletic Communications

Lincoln - The Nebraska women's basketball team came together one last time to celebrate the best season in school history at the program's year-end awards banquet on Sunday.

More than 450 invited guests, including players, family and friends, coaches, athletic staff and administrators and Fastbreaker Booster Club members gathered at the Lincoln Station in the Haymarket to honor the 2010 Big 12 regular-season champion Huskers. Nebraska finished the year with a 32-2 record that included a 16-0 Big 12 mark and a conference-record-tying 30-game winning streak.

The 2009-10 Huskers advanced to the NCAA Sweet 16 for the first time in school history, after earning the school's first NCAA Tournament No. 1 seed. 

Big 12 and National Coach of the Year Connie Yori handed out Nebraska's annual awards, with All-American and 2010 Big 12 Player of the Year Kelsey Griffin claiming NU's Most Outstanding Offensive Player Award. Griffin, who was the No. 3 pick in the 2010 WNBA Draft, averaged 20.1 points and 10.3 rebounds per game as a senior. Griffin closed her program-changing career with 2,033 points and 1,019 rebounds in a school-record 127 starts.

Griffin also shared Nebraska's Most Outstanding Defensive Player Award with Big 12 Co-Defensive Player of the Year Yvonne Turner. Griffin recorded 60 steals, blocked 26 shots and notched a remarkable 29 charges drawn on the season, while Turner, a three-time Big 12 All-Defensive Team selection, led NU with 63 steals on the year. Turner, a 5-8 senior guard from Omaha, ranked fifth in school history with 229 steals in her career.

Seniors Nikki Bober and Kala Kuhlmann shared NU's Husker Award, while all 15 members of the 2009-10 squad earned the Teammate Award.

The banquet, which was emceed by the voice of Husker women's basketball Matt Coatney, included academic awards and special messages from Athletic Director Tom Osborne, Coach Connie Yori and senior guard Kala Kuhlmann, along with the unveiling of the Senior Video and the 2009-10 Season Highlight Video.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank
Women's Basketball May. 17
Women's Basketball May. 4
Women's Basketball Apr. 22
Women's Basketball Apr. 20
Women's Basketball Apr. 20
Women's Basketball Apr. 19


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub