Washington native Lindsey Moore leads the Huskers against WSU on Nov. 22.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Huskers to Face Cougars in Super Six Series

By NU Athletic Communications

Nebraska will represent the Big 12 Conference this season in the inaugural Super Six Series, which will feature six games between six of the nation's premier conferences.

The Huskers will take on Washington State in Pullman on Monday, Nov. 22, at 9 p.m. The game will not be televised.

Leagues participating in the series include the Big Ten, Pac-10, the Atlantic Coast, Big East, Southeastern and Big 12.  Two teams from each conference will participate, resulting in six games played in on-campus venues. Each league will have one home game and one away game annually. Games will be played during the early portion of the season. The 2010-11 season will mark the initial year of the series, which will continue through at least 2011-12.

Nebraska finished the 2009-10 regular season with a 29-0 record - the first undefeated regular season in Big 12 women's or men's history. The Huskers earned their first No. 1 seed in the 2010 NCAA Tournament and also made their first NCAA Sweet 16 appearance. Coach Connie Yori was named the 2010 Big 12 Coach of the Year and the unanimous National Coach of the Year.

The Huskers return two starters this season - Dominique Kelley and Lindsey Moore. Kelley, a 2010 All-Big 12 honorable-mention selection, has started every game since joining the team in 2008. Moore was a member of the 2009-10 Big 12 All-Freshman Team after ranking fourth in the conference with an average of 4.5 assists per game.

Washington State returns four starters in 2010-11, including two of its top three scorers and its top three rebounders. Among those is junior guard April Cook who ranked in the top 15 in the Pac-10 in scoring. 

Nebraska is 3-0 all-time against WSU, including a 107-54 win last season.

The Big 12 has joined forces with five other conferences to create the Super Six Series women's basketball challenge. Baylor and Nebraska will serve as the Big 12's participants in 2010 with BU hosting Michigan State on Nov. 19.

2010-11 Super Six Series
(all times listed as Central)

November 17
Pittsburgh at Minnesota, 7:00 p.m.

November 18
UCLA at Notre Dame, 6:00 p.m.
Duke at Auburn, 6:00 p.m.

November 19
Michigan State at Baylor, 7:00 p.m.

November 21
Vanderbilt at Florida State, 1:00 p.m.

November 22
Nebraska at Washington State, 9:00 p.m.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank
Women's Basketball May. 17
Women's Basketball May. 4
Women's Basketball Apr. 22
Women's Basketball Apr. 20
Women's Basketball Apr. 20
Women's Basketball Apr. 19


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub