Lindsey Moore is one eight finalist for the Nancy Lieberman Award.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Moore Named Nancy Lieberman Award Finalist

By NU Athletic Communications

Lincoln - Nebraska's Lindsey Moore was recently named one of eight finalists for the 13th Annual Nancy Lieberman Award, presented to the nation's top collegiate point guard.

Moore, a 5-9 junior from Covington, Wash., ranks among the nation's top all-around guards. The three-year starter for the Huskers enters the final week of Big Ten regular-season play ranked seventh in the conference in scoring (16.1 ppg), second in assists (5.4 apg) and sixth in steals (2.3 spg). She also ranks 10th in the Big Ten with her 80.1 free throw percentage, and 14th in three-pointers made with 1.5 threes per game.

Moore has been a leader for a Nebraska team that owns a 20-6 overall record and a 9-5 mark in the Huskers' first season in the Big Ten. Last season, Moore earned honorable-mention All-Big 12 accolades as a sophomore by averaging 14.1 points, 5.9 assists and 1.0 steals per game.

As a true freshman in 2009-10, Moore was the starting point guard on a Nebraska team that rolled to a perfect 29-0 regular-season record and claimed the 2010 Big 12 Conference title. She became the first freshman point guard in NCAA Division I history to lead her team to an unbeaten regular season. The Huskers finished with a 32-2 overall record and advanced to Nebraska's first-ever NCAA Sweet 16.

Moore, who has started 91 consecutive games for the Huskers since earning Parade High School All-America honors at Kentwood High School in Washington, ranks 23rd in Nebraska history with 1,059 points. She also ranks fourth in Husker history with 477 assists, and eighth in the NU record book with 112 career three-pointers.

Moore is Nebraska's first-ever Nancy Lieberman Award finalist.

The list of Nancy Lieberman Award finalists was chosen by sportswriters from across the country, and the award will be presented by the Rotary Club of Detroit. The list of finalists will be narrowed to three players and the winner will be announced at the NCAA Women's Final Four weekend in Denver, Colo., April 1-3. The award will be officially presented at a noon luncheon at the Detroit Athletic Club on April 18.

2012 Nancy Lieberman Award Finalists

  • Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame
  • Angel Goodrich, Kansas
  • Chelsea Gray Duke
  • Bria Hartley, Connecticut
  • Lindsey Moore, Nebraska
  • Samantha Prahalis, Ohio State
  • Odyssey Sims, Baylor
  • Haley Steed, BYU


More News Sponsor - First National Bank
Women's Basketball Dec. 11
Women's Basketball Dec. 9
Women's Basketball Dec. 4
Women's Basketball Dec. 2
Women's Basketball Nov. 30


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub