Junior Hooper led Nebraska's first group of All-Big Ten honorees.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Hooper Heads Huskers on All-Big Ten Teams

By NU Athletic Communications

Lincoln - Sophomore Jordan Hooper became Nebraska's first first-team All-Big Ten award winner in women's basketball when she was named to the five-player all-conference team by both the coaches and media on Monday.

Hooper was joined on the all-conference teams by Husker teammates Lindsey Moore (2nd), Emily Cady (HM, All-Freshman) and Kaitlyn Burke (Sportsmanship). While all of the honors are Nebraska's first conference honors in the Big Ten, they mark the ninth consecutive season that the Huskers have claimed multiple all-conference awards under Coach Connie Yori.

All of the Big Ten Conference's yearly honors were announced live on the Big Ten Network with a special awards show on Monday, Feb. 27, at 6 p.m. (central).

Hooper, a 6-2 forward from Alliance, Neb., closed the regular season as the Big Ten's No. 1 rebounder (9.3 rpg) and No. 4 scorer (19.1 ppg) while helping the Huskers to a 21-7 record that included a 10-6 Big Ten mark.

Hooper is the first Husker to win first-team all-conference honors as a sophomore since Kelsey Griffin in 2006-07. Griffin went on to be a three-time first-team All-Big 12 pick and a 2010 first-team All-American as a 6-2 forward.

Hooper is just the fifth Husker sophomore in history to claim first-team all-conference accolades, joining Griffin, Kiera Hardy (Big 12, 2005), Karen Jennings (Big Eight, 1991) and Maurtice Ivy (Big Eight, 1986). Hooper also claimed a spot on the Big 12 All-Freshman Team in 2011.

Hooper was joined among Nebraska's All-Big Ten honorees by Moore. The 5-9 junior point guard from Covington, Wash., captured second-team All-Big Ten honors from both the coaches and media after averaging 15.4 points, 5.2 assists and 2.2 steals per game on the year. She ranked eighth in the conference in scoring, second in assists and sixth in the steals.

It marked the third all-conference award of Moore's career, after earning honorable-mention All-Big 12 recognition a year ago, and a spot on the Big 12 All-Freshman Team in 2009-10.

Cady captured Nebraska's first-ever spot on the Big Ten All-Freshman Team by producing 10.1 points, 6.1 rebounds, 1.8 assists and 1.3 steals per game to go along with a team-leading 24 blocked shots on the season. The 6-2 forward from Seward, Neb., increased her production in Big Ten play by averaging 12.3 points and 6.3 rebounds against conference foes.

Cady also earned a spot on the honorable-mention All-Big Ten team from the conference media. She becomes the first Husker freshman since Meggan Yedsena in 1991 to earn a spot on an overall all-conference team. Yedsena is the only Husker in history to earn four spots on all-conference teams. Yedsena claimed honorable-mention All-Big Eight accolades in 1991, before capturing three second-team awards in 1992, 1993 and 1994.

Burke rounded out the list of Husker award winners on their inaugural All-Big Ten squads by earning a Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The 5-7 senior guard from North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada was one of two Big Ten women's basketball players among 30 national candidates for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. Burke is also the President of Nebraska's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and a regular academic all-conference selection. She also ranks among Nebraska's top five in career games played and career three-pointers made.

Hooper, Moore, Cady, Burke and the rest of the Huskers will continue their season at the 2012 Big Ten Conference Tournament at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indiapolis, March 1-4. Nebraska will take on Northwestern on Thursday, March 1, at approximately 1 p.m., and the game will be televised live by the Big Ten Network.

2012 All-Big Ten Awards

First-Team All-Big Ten
Jordan Hooper, So., F, Nebraska
Tayler Hill, Jr., G, Ohio State
Samantha Prahalis, Sr., G, Ohio State
Alex Bentley, Jr., G, Penn State
Maggie Lucas, So., G, Penn State

Second-Team All-Big Ten
Lindsey Moore, Jr., G, Nebraska
Porsche Poole, Sr., G, Michigan State
Rachel Banham, Fr., G, Minnesota
Morgan Johnson, Jr., C, Iowa
Brittany Rayburn, Sr., G, Purdue

Third-Team All-Big Ten
Karisma Penn, Jr., F, Illinois
Jaime Printy, Jr., G, Iowa
Kamille Wahlin, Sr., G, Iowa
Lykendra Johnson, Sr., F, Michigan State
Dannielle Diamant, Jr., C, Northwestern

Honorable-Mention All-Big Ten
Rachel Sheffer, Jr, C/F, Michigan
Kiara Buford, Sr., G, Minnesota
Morgan Jones, Fr., G, Northwestern
Nikki Greene, Jr, C, Penn State
Anya Covington, Sr., F, Wisconsin
Taylor Wurtz, Jr., G, Wisconsin

Big Ten All-Freshman Team
Emily Cady, F, Nebraska
Samantha Logic, G, Iowa
Kiana Johnson, G, Michigan State
Rachel Banham, G, Minnesota
Morgan Jones, G, Northwestern

Big Ten All-Defensive Team
Adrienne GodBold, Jr., G, Illinois
Jenny Ryan, Jr., G, Michigan
Tayler Hill, Jr., G, Ohio State
Amber Stokes, Jr., G, Ohio State
Alex Bentley, Jr., G, Penn State

Big Ten Player of the Year: Samantha Prahalis, Sr., G, Ohio State
Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year: Amber Stokes, Jr., G, Ohio State
Big Ten Freshman of the Year: Rachel Banham, G, Minnesota
Big Ten Sixth Player of the Year: Adrienne GodBold, Jr., G, Illinois
Big Ten Coach of the Year: Coquese Washington, Penn State

2011-12 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Kaitlyn Burke, Nebraska
; Lydia McCully, Illinois; Aulani Sinclair, Indiana; Kelly Krei, Iowa; Courtney Boylan, Michigan; Lykendra Johnson, Michigan State; Jackie Voigt, Minnesota; Allison Mocchi, Northwestern; Amber Stokes, Ohio State; Zhaque Gray, Penn State; Brittany Rayburn, Purdue; Anya Covington, Wisconsin.



More News Sponsor - First National Bank
Women's Basketball Jun. 22
Women's Basketball May. 17
Women's Basketball May. 4
Women's Basketball Apr. 22
Women's Basketball Apr. 20


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub