Jessica Periago claimed first-team academic All-Big 12 honors for the third time.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Husker Trio Earns Academic All-Big 12 Awards

By NU Athletic Communications

Lincoln - Nebraska senior Jessica Periago and juniors Kaitlyn Burke and Harleen Sidhu captured first-team academic All-Big 12 accolades when the conference announced its women's basketball honor teams on Wednesday.

Periago, a 6-4 center from Toulon, France, earned the third first-team academic All-Big 12 award of her career. Periago, who has started Nebraska's last three games, carries better than a 3.6 grade-point average as a biochemistry and international studies major. Periago is also a seven-time member of the Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll.

Burke, a 5-7 guard from North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, added the second first-team academic All-Big 12 honor of her career. She has started 24 straight games in the Husker backcourt and is averaging 6.7 points, 2.6 rebounds and 2.6 steals per game on the season. She also ranks among NU's top 10 in career three-pointers.

Off the court, Burke owns nearly a 3.6 GPA as an advertising and business administration major. She is also a seven-time member of the Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll.

Sidhu added the first academic All-Big 12 honors of her career. The 6-1 forward from Surrey, British Columbia, Canada carries better than a 3.3 GPA as a nutrition science major. On the court, Sidhu has earned the first three starts of her career this season.

The Big 12 Conference honored 46 women's basketball student-athletes with academic honors, including 30 first-team members and 16 second-team selections. First-team honorees had to maintain a 3.2 or better GPA, while second-team picks must have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To be eligible, student-athletes must maintain a 3.0 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must also compete in 60 percent of their team's scheduled games. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

Nebraska returns to home action at the Bob Devaney Sports Center this Saturday against Kansas State. Tip-off between the Huskers and Wildcats is set for 7:05 p.m.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank
Women's Basketball Jan. 19
Women's Basketball Jan. 16
Women's Basketball Jan. 13
Women's Basketball Jan. 10
Women's Basketball Jan. 7


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub