Senior Brad Doering was honored as a 2011 Big Ten Sportsmanship Honoree
Photo by BreAnna Haessler/NU Media Relations

Doering and White Honored by Big Ten

By NU Athletic Communications

The Big Ten recognized 11 Sportsmanship Award honorees in both the men's and women's divisions. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.


Athlete of the Year: Mohammed Ahmed, Wisconsin

Coach of the Year: Mick Byrne, Wisconsin

Freshman of the Year: David Madrigal, Michigan State

Sportsmanship Award Honorees

Jordan Hebert, Illinois

Zach Mayhew, Indiana

Cameron Rieger, Iowa

Zach Ornelas, Michigan

Joe Dimambro, Michigan State

Paul Hilsen, Minnesota

Brad Doering, Nebraska

Taylor Williams, Ohio State

Tyler Corkedale, Penn State

Stephen Schulz, Purdue

Michael Brice, Wisconsin


Athlete of the Year: Caitlin Lane, Penn State

Coach of the Year: Walt Drenth, Michigan State

Co-Freshman of the Year: Taylor Pogue, Michigan; Gabrielle Anzalone, Wisconsin

Sportsmanship Award Honorees

Meghan Frigo, Illinois

Helene DeLone, Indiana

Mareike Schrulle, Iowa

Danielle Tauro, Michigan

Carlie Green, Michigan State

Laura Docherty, Minnesota

Katie White, Nebraska

Rachel Kaminski, Northwestern

Jordan Jennewine, Ohio State

Emily Giannotti, Penn State

Blair Doney, Purdue

Dani Fischer, Wisconsin


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub