Courtesy: NU Media Relations
Send Mail Print RSS

The University of Nebraska is well represented at the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind. The Hall of Fame moves to Atlanta and opens in 2014.

Nebraska's total reached 22 in 2013, as Tommie Frazier became the 16th former Husker player inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. Frazier guided Nebraska to undefeated national titles in 1994 and 1995, earning MVP honors in both seasons. As a senior, Frazier became the first Husker ever to win the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, finished second in the Heisman Trophy voting, received the UPI's Player-of-the-Year and The Sporting News Offensive Player-of-the-Year awards and was a finalist for the Davey O'Brien, Maxwell and the Walter Camp Player-of-the-Year awards.

In 2011, Will Shields earned enshrinement into the Hall of Fame after a decorated career. A consensus All-American and a Lombardi Award semifinalist as a senior, Shields is one of only six Husker linemen to earn all-conference honors for three straight seasons. As a senior, Shields received votes for Big Eight Offensive Player of the Year and earned All-America honors from Kodak, AP, UPI, Walter Camp and Football News.

Two years earlier, Grant Wistrom became the 14th player inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. The two-time All-American and two-time CoSIDA Academic All-American will join the 13 former Husker players before him and six former NU coaches in the Hall of Fame. The 1997 Lombardi Award winner, Wistrom was a cornerstone of a Nebraska defense that helped the Huskers to national championships in 1994, 1995 and 1997.

Three former Huskers were inducted as charter members of the College Football Hall of Fame in 1951, including two-time All-America tackle Ed Weir, Coach Fielding Yost and Coach Dana X. Bible.

Mike Rozier, the 1983 Heisman Trophy winner, joined the College Football Hall of Fame in 2006. Tom Osborne was the most recent NU coach enshrined, earning a spot immediately following his illustrious coaching career in 1998.

Nebraska Players

Nebraska Coaches
Uploaded Ad