Sophomore Eric Schryver finished third in the conference on pommel horse.
Photo by BreAnna Haessler/NU Media Relations

Schryver Finishes Third in Individual Competition

By NU Athletic Communications

Iowa City, Iowa - Three members of the Nebraska men's gymnastics team qualified for the individual competition of the Big Ten Championships on Saturday night. The top ten highest scoring athletes on each event Friday night qualified to participate in the individual competition at Carver-Hawkeye Arena in Iowa City.

Sophomore Eric Schryver led the way for the Huskers, finishing third in the conference on pommel horse. Junior Wyatt Baier finished in seventh on vault, and freshman Josh Ungar notched a ninth-place finish on high bar. In addition, senior Andreas Hofer was honored as a Big Ten Sportsmanship Award recipient.

The night began with competition on pommel horse, floor exercise and still rings. Schryver was up first for Nebraska, competing third on pommel horse. The 19th-ranked sophomore had a excellent showing on the event, posting a score of 14.20 to finish third overall. Schryver led the event until being edged by the final two competitors on the night.

After the first set of awards were presented, competition moved to vault, parallel bars and high bar. Baier competed second on vault, hitting a solid 15.00 and finishing just outside of the top six at seventh overall. Baier's score was identical to his qualifying mark from Friday evening and his third-best score of the season.

Ungar was the final Husker to see action on the evening, as the sophomore competed second on high bar. Ungar was strong on the evening, finishing with a score of 13.90 on his top event this season for Nebraska. His score was good for ninth on the evening.

The evening was concluded with Big Ten conference individual awards, as well as first and second-team honorees. Illinois Head Coach Justin Spring received Coach of the Year honors, while Illinois freshman C.J. Maestas was the recipient of both Gymnast of the Year and Freshman of the Year honors.

The all-conference first team consisted of the top six all-around finishers, as well as the first place individual finisher in each event. Second team honors were given to the second place finishers in each event, excluding those who were already members of the first team.

The Huskers will now wait until next week to learn their NCAA fate. The NCAA will announce its National Collegiate Men's Gymnastics Selections next week on Tuesday at approximately 4 p.m. A total of 12 teams, 36 event specialists and six all-around competitors will be chosen for competition at this year's NCAA Men's Gymnastics championships, which will be held in Norman, Okla. on April 19-21 at Lloyd Noble Arena on the University of Oklahoma campus.

2012 Big Ten Championships
Individual Competition
Carver-Hawkeye Arena
Iowa City, Iowa

Pommel Horse
Eric Schryver: 14.20 (3rd)

Wyatt Baier: 15.00 (7th)

High Bar
Josh Ungar: 13.90 (9th)

Coach of the Year
Justin Spring (ILL)

Gymnast of the Year
C.J. Maestas (ILL)

Freshman of the Year
C.J. Maestas (ILL)

First Team All-Big Ten
C.J. Maestas (ILL)
Paul Ruggeri (ILL)
Broderick Shemansky (IOWA)
Adrian de los Angeles (MICH)
Sam Mikaluk (MICH)
Ty Echard (OSU)
Craig Hernandez (PSU)
Felix Aronovich (PSU)
Scott Rosenthal PSU)

Second Team All-Big Ten
Zack Chase (MINN)
Misha Koudinov (OSU)

Sportsmanship Award Winners
Josh Wilson (ILL)
Matt McGrath (IOWA)
Stacey Ervin (MICH)
Travis Heaver (MINN)
Andreas Hofer (NEB)
Misha Koudinov (OSU)
Scott Rosenthal (PSU)


More News Sponsor - First National Bank
Men's Gymnastics Apr. 20
Men's Gymnastics Apr. 6
Men's Gymnastics Apr. 5


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub