Junior Janelle Giblin ranks first in the Big Ten on vault and bars.
Photo by Kelly Mosier

Huskers Place Five on All-Big Ten Team, Earn Top Seed at Championships

By NU Athletic Communications
Lincoln, Neb. - The Nebraska women's gymnastics team placed a league-high five gymnasts on the 2012 All-Big Ten first and second teams, which were announced by the conference on Monday. The Huskers also earned the No. 1 overall seed in the Big Ten Gymnastics Championships, which will take place next Saturday, March 24, in Iowa City, Iowa.

Four Huskers were placed on the first team after finishing in the top three in the conference at a single event or finishing in the top six in the all-around. Jessie DeZiel, Lora Evenstad, Janelle Giblin and Emily Wong were all placed on the first team, while Jamie Schleppenbach was a second-team honoree after finishing in the top six on vault.

DeZiel and Wong both rank inside the top five nationally in the all-around and check in as the No. 2 and 3 all-around competitors in the Big Ten, respectively. Wong owns a RQS of 39.45, while DeZiel has a 39.505. DeZiel, a true freshman, also ranks at No.1 on the floor exercise with a 9.90. Both DeZiel and Wong were named to their first All-Conference team.

Evenstad ranks inside the top three in the conference on bars (9.90) and floor (9.90) to secure her spot on the first-team. The senior is a three-time All-Conference pick after being named to the All-Big 12 team the previous two seasons.

Giblin was a first-team member ranking first in the vault (9.93) and bars (9.91). The San Ramon, Calif., native has won the bars title in nine out of the Huskers' 10 meets and has five vault titles.

Schleppenbach earned second-team honors after finishing the regular season ranked at No. 5 on vault with an RQS of 9.90. The Lincoln native has won three vault titles and posted a career-high 9.95 twice this season, including in the Huskers' road victory over No. 7 Utah.

The Huskers will return to action next Saturday, March 24, for the Big Ten Championships in Iowa City, Iowa. With the Huskers earning the No. 1 overall seed, they will participate in the night session at 6:05 p.m. with Ohio State, Penn State and Minnesota. The Big Ten Championships will be aired live on the Big Ten Network. The complete All-Big Ten team and seedings for the championships are below.

Afternoon Session - 1:05 p.m. CT
5. Michigan
6. Illinois
7. Iowa
8. Michigan State

Evening Session - 6:05 p.m. CT
1. Nebraska
2. Penn State
3. Ohio State
4. Minnesota

Kelsey Joannides, ILL
Jessie DeZiel, NEB
Lora Evenstad, NEB
Janelle Giblin, NEB
Emily Wong, NEB
Sarah Miller, OSU
Sharaya Musser, PSU

Amber See, ILL
Alina Weinstein, ILL
Tesla Cox, IOWA
Katie Zurales, MICH
Taira Neal, MSU
Jamie Schleppenbach, NEB
Whitney Bencsko, PSU
Madison Merriam, PSU


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub