Ellie Grooters was one of 25 track student-athletes named to teh Tom Osborne Citizenship Team.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

25 Huskers Chosen for Tom Osborne Citizenship Team

By NU Athletic Communications

Lincoln – The Nebraska track and field team saw 25 student-athletes recognized as part of the first-ever Tom Osborne Citizenship Team Monday morning.

Brena Andrews, Martina Barinova, Tommy Brinn, Ellen Dougherty, Sarah Firestone, Grant Gehlen, Levi Gipson, Jacob Griess, Ellie Grooters, Annie Jackson, Josh Jochim, Devandrew Johnson, Florentia Kalogeraki, Will Lohman, Maggie Malone, Anne Martin, Dexter McKenzie, Siera Rohde, Cody Rush, Jillanna Scanlan, Tristen Sharp, Mara Weekes, John Welk, Seth Wiedel and Chad Wright were among the 215 student-athletes across all 24 sports selected for the inaugural team. To be chosen for the Osborne Citizenship Team, each student-athlete had to complete a minimum of six community service/leadership projects in the academic calendar year and remain in good academic standing. 

The team was created to recognize the service to the community by Nebraska Athletics, and to recognize the contributions and ideals of legendary Husker Football Coach and past Athletic Director Tom Osborne.  During his tenure as athletic director from 2007 until 2013, Osborne played a significant role in expanding Nebraska’s Life Skills department while encouraging total person development for his student-athletes.

The group is among 215 Husker student-athletes recognized for their off-the-field efforts. In all, this year’s team members have participated in 1,300 campus or community service projects including, but not limited to, weekly mentoring, school outreach, hospital and hospice visits, awareness events, special needs programming, holiday outreach and statewide motivational assemblies. 

Each team member was honored earlier Monday at the Hero Leadership Breakfast at Memorial Stadium. Each of the recipients will receive a Tom Osborne Citizenship Team medallion.  Monday’s Hero Leadership Breakfast caps a busy weekend of academic events, as the annual student-athlete Academic Banquet took place Sunday night, including the announcement of Nebraska’s Big Ten Medal of Honor winners for 2013-14.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub