Anne Martin maintained an unblemished GPA during the school year.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Track Athletes Earn Academic All-Big Ten Honors

By NU Athletic Communications

A total of 42 Nebraska track and field student-athletes were recognized Wednesday as Academic All-Big Ten recipients. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

Among the 1,216 spring and at-large sports student-athletes recognized by the Big Ten Conference, a total of 16 maintained an unblemished cumulative GPA, including Nebraska student-athlete Anne Martin (Sr., Women’s Track, Elementary Education).

Martin led the group of 42 members of Coach Gary Pepin’s track team, including 23 members of the men’s team and 18 members of the women’s team, who received Academic All-Big Ten honors. Among that group, many have received multiple academic all-conference recognition. Repeat Academic All-Big Ten honorees include, Paula Andrie, Marusa Cernjul, Nolan Border, Craig Driver, Travis Englund, Veronica Grizzle, Jacob Griess, Ellie Grooters, Jarren Heng, Mark Hilderbrand, Mary Lloyd, Anne Martin, Anna Minnick, Carlie Pinkelman, Patrick Raedler, Christian Sanderfer, Jillanna Scanlan, Tristen Sharp, Lauren Welch, John Welk, Seth Wiedel.

First-time honorees include Oladapo Akinmoladun, Isabel Andrade, Jake Bender, Brandon Benson, Matt Bloch, Melanie Blum, Nolan Border, Guy Fenske, Matt Gilbert, Levi Gipson, Kari Heck, Annie Jackson, Maggie Malone, Jacob Olson, Sean Pille, Jake Pinion, Cody Rush, Alney Tobias, Shawnice Williams, Morgan Woitzel, Miles Ukaoma,

The conference office will also present the Distinguished Scholar Award in July. Student-athletes eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letterwinners in at least their second year in residence at their institution. Qualifying student-athletes must have earned a GPA of 3.7 or higher for the current academic year, excluding summer school. The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference's Academic All-Big Ten program.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub