The Huskers will travel to the Sun Angel Classic this weekend.
Photo by BreAnna Haessler/NU Media Relations

Huskers Head to Sun Angel Classic

By NU Athletic Communications
Meet: Sun Angel Classic
Where: Tempe, Ariz. (Sun Angel Stadium)|
When: Friday, April 6 (10 a.m.) - Saturday, April 7 (8 a.m.)

The Nebraska track and field team will be back in Tempe, Ariz., on Friday, April 6 and Saturday, April 7 for the Sun Angel Classic at Joe Selleh Track at Sun Angel Stadium.

The men's and women's hammer throw will kick off the competition on Friday at 10 a.m. CT. The women's and men's 5,000 meters will be held on Friday evening at 5:10 p.m. CT.

On Saturday, the action starts with the men's discus at 8 a.m. CT. The track events start at noon, as the women's 100 meter hurdles will get underway.

A live blog and results as well as other information about the meet can be found at

Ukaoma Produces Strong Start

Nebraska sophomore Miles Ukaoma used an impressive performance in the 400-meter hurdles at the Arizona State Invitational to jump-start his outdoor season. Ukaoma notched a personal-best time of 50.52 in the event to finish in first place.

Ukaoma followed that performance with another first-place finish in the 400-meter hurdles at the Arkansas Spring Invitational. He currently ranks third nationally in the event, behind Reggie Wyatt of USC, who has clocked a time of 49.95, and Amaechi Morton of Stanford with a time of 49.58. Ukaoma holds the top time in the Big Ten for the event.

Wright Out of the Gate

Sophomore Chad Wright made his presence known in his first outdoor meet of the season, the Arizona State Invitational, with a winning throw of 195-08 in the invitational division of the men's discus. The mark ranks fifth on NU's all-time performance list.

Wright currently ranks third in the NCAA and his mark is tops among sophomores this season. On the Big Ten list, Wright sits in the No. 1 spot.

Senior Tyler Hitchler is not far behind Wright as he ranks fifth nationally after finishing second to Wright in the discus at the Arizona State Invitational with a mark of 194-0.

Husker Jumpers Make a Splash

Nebraska notched two event titles in the jumps at the Arkansas Spring Invitational as Mara Griva earned the women's triple jump title (42-2 1/4) and Chris Phipps claimed the men's long jump crown (25-4 1/2).

Phipps is currently tied for seventh nationally in the long jump, while Griva is 12th in the triple jump.

Anna Weigandt and Patrick Raedler also made their presence known at the Arkansas Spring Invitational. Weigandt finished fourth in the long jump (18-2 1/4) and second in the triple jump (41-3 1/4), recording a personal-best leap. Raedler took home a second-place finish in the men's triple jump with a leap of 50-6 3/4.

Hurdling the Competition

Following Ukaoma's lead, Greta Kerekes also took home an event title at the Arkansas Spring Invitational, earning the 100 meter hurdles crown. She notched a time of 13.93 to take top honors and earn her first event title of the season.

Mila Andric finished sixth in the 400 meter hurdles with a season-best time of 59.94.

Make in 104

The Nebraska women's track and field team capped its first Big Ten Indoor Championships in style with a 114.50-106 win over defending champion Ohio State. The NU women earned the second Big Ten title in school history and the first team title for the track and field program. Nebraska now has a total of 104 conference titles as a program.

As an overall program, the Huskers won 51 Big Eight titles during the conference's history from 1974-1996 and Nebraska continued to dominate the conference since moving to the Big 12 in 1997. NU had won a league-high 23 team titles, including the program's historic 100th conference team title in 2007.

The Huskers added their 101st and 102nd titles during the 2009 and 2010 outdoor seasons when they became the first men's team in Big 12 history to win back-to-back team titles at the outdoor conference meet. Nebraska recorded its 103rd conference title in 2011, as the women's team upset four-time defending champion Texas A&M at the indoor championships.

Prestigious Pepin

Nebraska's Big Ten women's title added to the historic 32-year resume of Head Coach Gary Pepin, who now holds 68 conference titles dating back to his first Big Eight win at the 1981 indoor meet. Pepin was honored by his peers on Tuesday, Feb. 28 as the 2012 Big Ten Women's Indoor Coach of the Year.

Barrefors Leading NU

Nebraska's senior heptathlete Bjorn Barrefors completed the indoor season with a fourth-place finish in the men's heptathlon. He took home another All-America honor after the weekend of competition.

The NU men and women have combined to win one national title in the combined events with Ashley Selig's 2005 victory in the pentathlon.

Barrefors captured All-America honors in the combined events at the 2011 national meet, as he also earned All-America accolades in 2009.

Huskers Produce Solid Indoor Season

The Nebraska track and field team finished the 2012 NCAA Indoor Championships on Saturday, March 10 with a total of six first-team All-America awards during the two-day meet.

In the team standings, the men tied Georgia and Oral Roberts for 23rd with 9 points each.

2012 First-Team All-Americans

Bjorn Barrefors- Heptathlon

Chris Phipps- Long Jump

Jessica Furlan- Distance Medley Relay

Ellie Grooters- Distance Medley Relay

Ashley Miller- Distance Medley Relay

Mara Weekes- Distance Medley Relay

2012 Second-Team All-Americans

Chris Phipps- Triple Jump

Luke Pinkelman- Shot Put

Nate Polacek- Pole Vault  

2012 Honorable Mention All-Americans

Breanna Bussel- Pole Vault

Huskers Claim Big Ten Titles

Nebraska captured five individual titles at the 2012 Big Ten Indoor Track and Field Championships hosted by Nebraska.

Breanna Bussel was the Huskers' first Big Ten Conference champion, recording a first-place finish in the pole vault. Bussel notched a personal-best mark of 13-10 1/2.

Ashley Miller claimed the 3,000 meters title while rewriting the Husker record books. Miller posted a personal-best time of 9:17.28 to edge out the first-place finish. With the time, she now sits in first among top indoor 3,000 meter performances at Nebraska.

Pinkelman added Big Ten Champion to his list of accomplishments on the year, taking top honors in the shot put. With a throw of 63-9 (19.43), Pinkelman became a back-to-back conference champion as he was the Big 12 champion in 2011.

Chris Phipps earned the Big Ten title in the long jump, taking down his competition with a leap of 25-4 1/2 (7.73). The eight-time All-American took home his first indoor conference title.

Mara Griva secured the title in the women's triple jump. Griva notched a season-best jump of 42-9 1/2 (13.04) to take top honors and earn her second indoor conference triple jump title.

All-America Pipeline

Nebraska has been a staple at the NCAA Indoor Championships as the men's team alone has produced 118 All-America awards.  The men's squad has been on quite a roll as they have had at least one athlete earn All-American honors at the past 22 national meets. Since the indoor championships began in 1965, the Huskers have failed to leave with at least one All-America award on just five occasions, including 1975, 1982, 1983, 1984 and 1990.

The women's team has been just as good indoors since the national meet started in 1980. Along with three straight national titles from 1982 to 1984, the Huskers have two or more All-Americans at every meet except for 2002 when they failed to earn an honor.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub