The Huskers are playing in the Mizzou Intercollegiate for the third straight year.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Huskers Set for Mizzou Intercollegiate

By NU Athletic Communications

Columbia, Mo. - Following a two-week break from competition, the Nebraska men's golf team returns to action at The Club at Old Hawthorne in Columbia, Mo., for the fifth annual C.O.G. Mizzou Intercollegiate on Monday and Tuesday.

The Huskers are making their third all-time appearance at the Mizzou Intercollegiate. Nebraska has competed in the tournament the last two years, winning the tournament in 2010 and tying for third last year. In 2010, the Huskers shot 857 and in 2011, they shot 923.

The Mizzou Intercollegiate will be Nebraska's 10th tournament of the 2011-12 campaign and its fifth event of the spring season. NU has one team title and two top-10 finishes on the season. In their most recent outing, the Huskers fired a season-best 54-hole total of 871 at the Denver Desert Shootout en route to a tie-for-11th finish. Senior Scott Willman led the team for the seventh time this season, tying for sixth.

This week, Willman will be playing in the No. 1 position again. Ross Dickson will be No. 2 in the NU lineup, while Jordan Reinertson and Manuel Lavin will play as the Nos. 3 and 4 respectively. Playing as the No. 5 in the Husker lineup is Neil Dufford.

The Club at Old Hawthorne, a par-72, 7,221-yard layout, will play host to 15 teams, including intrastate rival Creighton as well as Big Ten foes Purdue and Wisconsin. The other teams in the field are Missouri, Austin Peay, Belmont, Binghamton, Cincinnati, Iowa State, IUPUI, Northern Illinois, Northern Iowa, Oral Roberts and South Dakota State.

Monday's opening round begins with shotgun start at 7 a.m. (Central Time). The second round will immediately follow the first round. Tuesday's final round is a shotgun start at 8 a.m. Nebraska is paired with IUPUI and Purdue on Monday.

C.O.G. Mizzou Intercollegiate
April 9-10, 2012
The Club at Old Hawthorne
Par 72 - 7,221 yards

Tee Times (All Times Central):

  • Monday, April 9 (36) - 7 a.m. (Shotgun)
  • Tuesday, April 10 (18) - 8 a.m. (Shotgun)

Nebraska Lineup
1. Scott Willman - Sr.
2. Ross Dickson - Fr.
3. Jordan Reinertson - Jr.
4. Manuel Lavin - So.
5. Neil Dufford - Jr.

Mizzou Intercollegiate Field (15 teams): Missouri, Austin Peay, Belmont, Binghamton, Cincinnati, Creighton, Iowa State, IUPUI, Nebraska, Northern Illinois, Northern Iowa, Oral Roberts, Purdue, South Dakota State, Wisconsin



More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub