For the third straight year, a Husker men's golfer has been selected to compete at the NCAA Regionals.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Willman Earns NCAA Regional Bid

By NU Athletic Communications

Senior Scott Willman was selected to compete at the NCAA Regionals in Norman, Okla., May 17-19, when the field was announced on Monday.

Willman becomes the third consecutive Husker men's golfer to compete at the NCAA Regionals with his 2012 invitation. Last year, then-senior Andrew Wyatt tied for 41st at the NCAA Colorado Regional, shooting 218 over three rounds. In 2010, Brandon Crick competed at the NCAA West Regional, where he tied for eighth at 215 strokes.

A Prairie Village, Kan., native, Willman will compete at the Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club in Norman Okla., May 17-19, in one of six 54-hole regional tournaments. Fourteen teams and five individuals have earned spots at the Norman Regional. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams will advance to the finals.

The senior led the Huskers in nine out of 11 tournaments during the 2011-12 campaign, earning a team-best 73.03 stroke average. In addition, all of Willman's 34 rounds on the season counted toward the team total as he posted 15 subpar rounds. He earned nine top-20 finishes, with his best a tie-for-fifth at the Jackrabbit Invitational. Willman was named Big Ten Player of the Week on two occasions during the spring.

The finals will be conducted May 29-June 3, at The Riviera Country Club in Pacific Palisades, California.

NCAA Norman Regional
Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club - Norman, Okla.

1. Texas

2. Georgia Tech [Atlantic Coast Conference]

3. Washington

4. Florida State

5. Oklahoma

6. Saint Mary's (Calif.) [West Coast Conference]

7. Illinois [Big Ten Conference]

8. Middle Tennessee

9. South Carolina

10. San Diego

11. Arizona

12. Sacramento State [America Sky Men's Golf Conference]

13. IUPUI [The Summit League]

14. Loyola-Chicago[Horizon League]

1. Martin Simonsen, UTEP

2. Kevin Lucas, Nevada

3. Mitchell McLeroy, Stephen F. Austin

4. Scott Willman, Nebraska

5. Alfred Kerstis, UALR


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub