Sheils Claims First-Team All-Big Ten Honors
Madeleine Sheils earned first-team All-Big Ten honors as a senior.
Photo Courtesy Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications
Courtesy: NU Athletic Communications
Print RSS

Lincoln - Nebraska senior Madeleine Sheils captured first-team All-Big Ten honors when the conference announced its 2012 awards on Tuesday, May 1.

Sheils, a senior from Boise, Idaho, was one of six golfers named first-team All-Big Ten, joining Michigan State's Caroline Powers, Ohio State's Amy Meier and Rachel Rohanna and Purdue's Laura Gonzalez-Escallon and Paula Reto.

Michigan State's Lindsey Solberg and Liz Nagel, Ohio State's Susana Benavides and Kendall Prince, Michigan's Yugene Lee and Minnesota Banchalee Theinthong added second-team accolades.

Gonzalez-Escallon was named the Big Ten Player of the Year after winning the Big Ten individual title on Sunday at the Donald C. Ross Course in French Lick, Ind. Ohio State's Kendall Prince was named the Big Ten Freshman of the Year, while Michigan State's Stacy Slobodnik-Stoll earned coach-of-the-year honors.

On Monday, Sheils captured one of 18 overall individual selections into the NCAA Tournament field. Sheils, who also earned a spot on the Big Ten Tournament team after tying for third at the 12-team championship, will compete at NCAA Central Regional on The Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio, May 10-12.

Sheils heads to the NCAA Central Regional hoping to extend one of the best individual seasons in school history. Nebraska's leader throughout the season, Sheils has produced the third-best stroke average in school history (74.24) while capturing seven top-10 finishes on the year among her nine top-20 performances in 11 tournaments. She won the individual crown at the 2011 Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational in Sammamish, Wash., during the fall season when she fired a then-school-record 67.

She has carded six rounds better than par this season, including four in her last nine competitive rounds. She closed the Big Ten Tournament with back-to-back rounds of 71 to propel her to Nebraska's best individual conference tournament performance since 2007.

JV Team 300x250

Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad