Huskers Win Music City Classic
Kristi Mickelson led the Huskers and earned MVP honors of the Music City Classic.
Photo Courtesy Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications
Courtesy: NU Athletic Communications
Print RSS
The Nebraska women's bowling team won its final regular season competition, the Music City Classic, held in Smyrna, Tenn. The Huskers defeated Arkansas State, 4-3, in the event's baker format finals.

Nebraska entered Sunday's final round as the three-seed and was paired with four-seed Fairleigh Dickinson in the first match of the day. The Huskers were able to find a way to take care of business against FDU, winning the match, 4-2. Nebraska then swept the two seed, Central Missouri, 4-0. The Huskers then faced off with top-seeded Arkansas State in the bracketed finals to determine the event's winner. The match went all seven games, with Nebraska overpowering the Red Wolves in the end, 4-3.

Kristi Mickelson earned a first-place finish individually and the event's MVP award during Saturday's competition. Mickelson shot games of 185, 188, 258, 235, 238 and 234 for a 223 average and 1,338 total pinfall through the event's six traditional games. Liz Kuhlkin finished twelfth individually as well, rolling her way to a 1,181 total pinfall through six games for a 196.8 average. Nebraska set a blistering pace on Saturday, going 6-0 in team games on the afternoon and 13-2 overall to set up Sunday's tournament title.

The Huskers will now await a bid to the NCAA Championships, held from April 12-14 in Cleveland, Ohio. The NCAA selection show will be streamed live on on March 29.

Sunday's Bracketed Results:

(3) Nebraska vs. (4) Fairleigh Dickinson:
193-176 (NU)
187-197 (FDU)
175-160 (NU)
159-192 (FDU)
228-199 (NU)
172-149 (NU)

(3) Nebraska vs. (2) Central Missouri
180-204 (NU)
180-181 (NU)
160-213 (NU)
224-267 (NU)

(3) Nebraska vs. (1) Arkansas State
208-204 (Ark)
178-236 (NU)
178-170 (Ark)
189-238 (NU)
195-205 (NU)
212-155 (NU)
198-248 (NU)

Music City Classic Final Results:
Champion - Nebraska
Runner-Up - Arkansas State
Third: Fairleigh Dickinson
Fourth: Central Missouri
Fifth: Sacred Heart

JV Team 300x250

Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad