Bowling Coaching Staff
Bill Straub
Head Coach
Coach Info:
Position: Head Coach
City/State: Lincoln, NE
Phone: 402-472-0404

Honors and Awards

  • Two National Tenpin Coach of the Year Awards (2005), (2013)
  • Four NCAA Team Championships (2004, 2005, 2009, 2013)
  • Five IBC Women's National Titles (1991, 1995, 1997, 1999, 2001)
  • Two IBC Men's National Titles (1990, 1996)
  • Three NCBCA Collegiate Bowlers of the Year
  • 14 Bowlers have combined for 32 first-team All-America awards
  • Seven women bowlers who have been selected to national teams

Bill Straub has been the head coach for the Nebraska women's bowling team since 1996. However, his dedication and commitment to Nebraska bowling runs much deeper, as he coached both the men's and women's teams for 21 years dating back to when both programs were club sports.

Under his tenure, the Husker men's and women's teams have combined for 11 national titles in the past 18 years. The Nebraska women's bowling program won national championships in 1991, 1995, 1997, 1999, 2001, 2004, 2005, 2009 and 2013 while the men's program captured national titles in 1990 and 1996.

The 2003-04 season was a huge success for Straub and his Huskers, as they competed at the NCAA level for the first time in school history. Nebraska capped the season by winning the first-ever NCAA championship, rallying through the loser's bracket to defeat Central Missouri State in the nationally televised final. Shannon Pluhowsky was named the MVP of the NCAA Championships.

Straub then guided the Huskers to a second NCAA title in 2005, while Amanda Burgoyne was named the NCAA MVP. Again, Straub and his team captured the 2009 NCAA title as Cassandra Leuthold earned Most Valuable Player honors for the tournament.

Most recently, Straub led the Huskers to the 2013 NCAA title versus Vanderbuilt, winning 4.5-2.5 in-front of a nationally televised audience on ESPNU. Liz Kuhlkin earned Most Valuable Bowler of the national championship tournament, while also earning first-team NTCA All-American Honors.

Straub has led the Huskers to unprecedented success as a team by helping his bowlers capture numerous individual honors.

He coached five bowlers who have been tabbed as the National Tenpin Coaches Association Collegiate Player of the Year, including Kim (Berke) Straub (1992), Diandra (Hyman) Asbaty (2000), Pluhowsky (2001, 2004, 2005), Lindsay Baker (2006) and Burgoyne (2007). Straub has also coached four bowlers to NTCA Rookie-of-the-Year honors, including former bowlers Berke, Pluhowsky, Baker, and 2009-10 senior Leuthold.

Along with winning five national titles, Straub's squads have not been ranked lower than seventh in the top 25 bowling poll since becoming a varsity sport in 1997.

Straub's bowling history goes far beyond the University of Nebraska. A Lincoln native, Straub had an illustrious professional career, both locally and nationally. A member of the Nebraska Hall of Fame, Omaha Hall of Fame and the Lincoln Hall of Fame, Straub has gained more honors and titles than any other bowler from the state of Nebraska. His numerous local, state and national titles give proof that his success as a bowler and coach are mirrored by the personal success of his bowlers.

Straub graduated from Kensington University with a bachelor's degree in business administration. He and his wife Kim, a former four-time All-American and National Player of the Year, have one daughter, Meghan.