Chris Phipps was honored as an Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winner on Wednesday.
Photo by Jeremy Foote/

Student-Athletes Honored as Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

By NU Athletic Communications
Nebraska senior student-athletes Chris Phipps and Kaitlyn Burke were honored by the Big Ten Conference on Wednesday as they were named two of 24 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2011-12 academic year. Individuals for the award were chosen from a group of 300 student-athletes honored throughout the academic year who have displayed positive sportsmanship.

Phipps is a senior jumper and captain for Coach Gary Pepin's track and field squad. He is a six-time All-American and the 2012 Big Ten Indoor Long Jump Champion. He most recently earned his sixth NCAA Championships bid and will compete at the Outdoor Championships in Des Moines, Iowa, next week.

Burke was a senior leader for Coach Connie Yori's women's basketball team. She was one of 30 candidates nationally for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award and severed as President of Nebraska's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee. Burke ranks ninth at NU in career three-pointers made with 110 and finished her career second in games played with 134. She led the Huskers to their second-most victories in school history in 2011-12.

One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. From each university's list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

2012 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winner

Illinois: Nathan Scheelhaase, Football; Rachel Japp-Joyce, Swimming & Diving

Indiana: Jordan Hulls, Basketball; Amanda Wagner, Softball

Iowa: Matt Gatens, Basketball; Betsy Flood, Track and Field

Michigan: Jordan Kovacs, Football; Courtney Boylan, Basketball

Michigan State: Kirk Cousins, Football;  Jenilee Rathje, Volleyball

Minnesota: Taylor Matson, Ice Hockey; Anne Schleper, Ice Hockey

Nebraska: Chris Phipps, Track and Field; Kaitlyn Burke, Basketball

Northwestern: Sam Chien, Golf; Devynn Patterson, Fencing

Ohio State: Andrew Sweat, Football; Liz Sullivan, Soccer

Penn State: Scott Rosenthal, Gymnastics; Natalie Ettl, Gymnastics

Purdue: Joe Haase, Baseball; Ashley Courtney, Softball

Wisconsin: Kyle Jefferson, Track and Field; Anya Covington, Basketball


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub