Ndamukong Suh's jersey was retired on Nov. 26, 2010
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Nebraska's Retired Jerseys

By NU Athletic Communications

Following the 1949 season, the N Club voted to retire jersey No. 60 in honor of Tom "Train Wreck" Novak's stellar career with the Cornhuskers. Novak, the first Nebraska player to earn this honor, had been a four-time All-Big Seven choice and a 1949 All-American.

Novak was the only NU player to have the distinction of a retired number, until Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Rodgers earned the distinction. Rodgers allowed his number to return to circulation when his son, Terry, joined the Huskers, but it has since returning to permanently retired status.

In 2004, College and Pro Football Hall of Famer Bob Brown's No. 64 joined Novak's hallowed No. 60 and Rodgers' No. 20, among the permanently retired numbers at Nebraska. Brown, whose jersey retirement ceremony occurred during NU's game with Colorado in 2004, became the 16th player in Husker history to have his jersey retired.

All-American Ndamukong Suh - one of the most decorated defensive players in college football history - joined Nebraska's list of retired jerseys in 2009. Suh won the Outland, Lombardi, Nagurski and Bednarik award in 2009, while becoming the first defensive player in history to win the Associated Press National Player-of-the-Year award.

All major national award winners at Nebraska automatically have their jerseys retired, but their numbers will still be available to active Huskers.

Nebraska's group of 17 players with retired jerseys certainly ranks among the best in the nation. Huskers who have earned the distinction of jersey retirement include three Heisman Trophy winners (Johnny Rodgers, Mike Rozier, Eric Crouch), eight Outland Trophy winners with nine awards (Larry Jacobson, Rich Glover, Dave Rimington (2), Dean Steinkuhler, Will Shields, Ndamukong Suh, Zach Wiegert, Aaron Taylor), five Lombardi Award winners (Rich Glover, Dave Rimington, Dean Steinkuhler, Ndamukong Suh, Grant Wistrom), one Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award winner (Tommie Frazier), one Davey O'Brien Award winner (Eric Crouch), one Butkus Award winner (Trev Alberts), one Bronko Nagurksi Award winner (Ndamukong Suh), one Chuck Bednarik Award winner (Ndamukong Suh) and one Rimington Trophy winner (Dominic Raiola).





Major Award


No. 60

Tom Novak

Four-Time All-Conference


No. 20

Johnny Rodgers

1972 Heisman/Walter Camp


No. 79

Rich Glover

1972 Outland/Lombardi


No. 50

Dave Rimington

1981, 1982 Lombardi/1982 Outland


No. 30

Mike Rozier

1983 Heisman/Maxwell/Walter Camp


No. 71

Dean Steinkuhler

1983 Outland/Lombardi


No. 75

Larry Jacobson

1971 Outland


No. 75

Will Shields

1992 Outland


No. 34

Trev Alberts

1993 Butkus


No. 74

Zach Wiegert

1994 Outland


No. 15

Tommie Frazier

1995 Johnny Unitas


No. 67

Aaron Taylor

1997 Outland


No. 98

Grant Wistrom

1997 Lombardi


No. 54

Dominic Raiola

2000 Rimington


No. 7

Eric Crouch

2001 Heisman/Walter Camp


No. 64

Bob Brown

College and Pro Football Hall of Fame


No. 93

Ndamukong Suh

2009 Outland/Lombardi/Nagurski/Bednarik


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub